Grant Writing (01:355:315)
Social Sciences Librarian- Alexander Library
Tom Glynn
Contact:
Alexander Library
Rutgers University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6105
Rutgers University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6105
Data sites and databases
- Data-Planet Statistical DatasetsFast and easy access to data from more than 70 organizational sources, with over 35 billion data points from 4.9 billion datasets available.
- NJ CountsAn annual snapshot of NJ's homeless population conducted by Monarch Housing Associates. As of August 2020, the 2020 report is posted.
- New Jersey Data BookFrom the Center for Government Services at Rutgers. Includes data on population, employment, education, taxation, crime, elections, etc. Can be searched at municipal, county, and or by congressional ore legislative districts. Free, but requires registration and log-in.
- New Jersey Department of EducationLook at the DATA link on this page for a series of useful reports, including data on enrollment, certified and non-certified staff, Special Education, etc.
- New Jersey's School Performance ReportsIncludes School District, and State reports; New Jersey School Report Cards from 1994-95 to the most current; and Highly Qualified Teacher Survey Results. Best source for data on NJ schools and districts.
- Office of Institutional Research and Academic Planning (Rutgers)Offers institutional characteristics, reports and surveys conducted at or about Rutgers. The Fact Book can be particularly helpful.
- PolicyMapAn online data and mapping application providing access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries. Data is accessible in interactive maps, tables, charts, and reports
- Social ExplorerUses an interactive mapping tool to provide access to several major sources of demographic data: the U.S. Decennial Census of population and housing, the American Community Survey, and data on religion from InfoGroup and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesUS Census data--most on national or state level. Footnotes often identify sources for additional data.
- UNDatamulti-disciplinary source providing official statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system
Statistics--Opinion Polls
National Agencies with Statistics to Support the existence of a Problem
US Federal government sources of information
- National Center for Education Statistics
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
- Centers for Disease Control, National Center for Health Statistics also includes data from the National Health Interview Survey
- The National Academies, Transportation Research Board
- The National Academies has several divisions, including:
- Behavioral, Social Sciences and Education;
- Earth and Life Studies;
- Engineering and Physical Sciences.
- US Department of Energy; National Renewable Energy Laboratory
- US Patent and Trademark Office
- US National Library of Medicine provides gateways to many federal research institutes.
New Jersey Agencies & Research
Healthy New Jersey provides statistics on some diseases and healthy or unhealthy practices of specific New Jersey populations and sub-populations. Be sure to check the "Statistics" link on this website. Links to national studies are provided and some studies results can be broken out by state.
Finding information from New Jersey Departments and Agencies
- Click the link for a list of NJ Departments and Agencies. Ask yourself "Which agency would care about my topic?"
- Visit the website to see if there is some connection to your topic and the responsibilities of the department or agency.
- Contact the appropriate department or agency. Consider calling to explain your project and ask about information you need. Several students have had success with this approach. Be respectful of the worker's time and have your questions prepared beforehand. If possible, have information emailed to you so you can cite it in your bibliography.
Finding background information on a topic specific to New Jersey or Rutgers University may require searching NJ newspapers such as the Star Ledger or The Daily Targum. Locate this information by searching the Access World News.
- Below the search boxes you'll see a map. Click North America, then USA, then New Jersey
- Scroll back to the top of the page, enter your search terms, then click Search.
New Jersey State Police Uniform Crime Reporting Unit (UCR) provides most recent data on crimes voluntarily reported by local police departments. Not all towns and city police departments participate.
Economic Indicators
Economic indicators are regularly updated and used to follow trends and guide decision-making.
Use the Economic Indicators research guide to locate:
- Financial Indicators
- Income Indicators
- Price Indexes and Consumption Patterns
- Manufacturing and Production
- Labor and Employment Indicators
- National Economic Reviews
- State and Regional Indicators and Reviews
- Economic Forecasts
Statistics and Reports on Rutgers University
- Rutgers Fact BookA source of accurate general information about Rutgers University students can be obtained from the Institutional Research and Academic Planning Fact Book
- Crime StatisticsRutgers Crime Statistics
- Institutional Research & Academic PlanningThe office that produces the Rutgers Fact Book also provides a wide range of reports and surveys on Rutgers, including the opinions of graduating students.
- Research Centers at RutgersAlphabetical listing of all Research Centers and Insititutes associated with Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey