Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For not-for-profit projects, the major method to raise capital is through grants. Nearly all foundations and grant-funding organizations require that the grant be given to an organization NOT and individual. Some of these organizations are incorporated and reffered to as 501(c)3. Therefore, you will need to find an organization that would care about your project and be willing to handle the administrative aspects of the grant. Also, note that administrative fees are involved in managing a grant. Foundations expect administrative costs and they should be written into the budget. These are often referred to as indirect costs. See the "Price" tab for example of Rutgers indirect costs for grant administration.
Foundation Directory Online
Provides information on more than 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant making charities in the United States.
Venture Capital for Business Projects
Financing Your Business
Prepared by Rutgers Business Librarian, Roberta Tipton, this guide contains links to sites providing formation about raising venture capital--including micro-financing--for business ventures.
Corporate Social Responsibility
Prepared by Ka-Neng Au, Business Librarian, this guide contains research strategies to find out what companies are doing in their communities and for the public in general. You may find a match between your proposal idea and the stated interests of a company in giving support.
Public Register Online
Free directory of online corporate annual reports available on the web.
Corporate Annual Reports
A guide to locate public information about domestic and international corporations
If your proposal is intended to solve a problem at Rutgers--whether parking or the bus system or the dining halls or the residence halls or student life or academic programs--one of the administrative offices at the university might be your best patron. Here are two main resources:
Government Funding Sources
The official U.S. government website for people who make, receive, and manage federal awards. Formerly the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Environmental Protection Agency
Agency charged with defending human health and the environment.
United States Government clearing house for grants--a good starting place.
National Institute of Mental Health
The lead federal agency for research on mental disorders--part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
The largest source of funding for medical research in the world. NIH has 27 separate institutes and centers, focusing on different aspects of health research. Rutgers received nearly $139,000,000 in research funding from NIH in FY 2015
National Science Foundation
Independent federal agency created "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" Funds a wide array of projects. In FY 2015, Rutgers received more than $55,000,000 in research support from NSF.
Small Business Administration
An independent agency of the federal government that help Americans start, build, and grow businesses. A source for loans and grants
United States Department of Education
Funding for a wide variety of projects--adult education, charter schools, early childhood education and much more.
Determine the ownership of a company (public or private) by typing the company name in the "Quote Lookup" box. There is much more information available on public companies because they have to report their finances.
The resources below will help you find information about a particular company.
Business Source Premier
Find articles in newpapers, magazine, trade publications, and more. Start your search with the company name and add terms/concepts to focus the search results.
Provides reports for all of the 723 industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
Find a company overview, which contains a company history, major products, a SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses/Limitations, Opportunities, and Threats) analysis, and a list of competitors.
Find financial data about your company. Please note that only public companies are in this database.
An excellent resource for business and financial research on non-publicly traded companies, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies. The database currently includes profiles for over 900,000 companies, 20,000 private equity and venture capital firms and investors, and 100,000 private market deals.
Social Sciences Librarian- Alexander Library