Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Conference Board Research Collection
Contains over 1,000 full-text management and analytical reports on topics such as business ethics, corporate governance, leadership, outsourcing, and strategic management. This collection also includes annual studies, monthly news on economic conditions, and current news releases on economic indicators.
Population: Who will benefit from the proposal
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Fast and easy access to data from more than 70 organizational sources, with over 35 billion data points from 4.9 billion datasets available.
An annual snapshot of NJ's homeless population conducted by Monarch Housing Associates. As of August 2019, the 2019 report is posted.
New Jersey Data Book
From the Center for Government Services at Rutgers. Includes data on population, employment, education, taxation, crime, elections, etc. Can be searched at municipal, county, and or by congressional ore legislative districts. Free, but requires registration and log-in.
New Jersey Department of Education
Look at the DATA link on this page for a series of useful reports, including data on enrollment, certified and non-certified staff, Special Education, etc.
New Jersey's School Performance Reports
Includes School District, and State reports; New Jersey School Report Cards from 1994-95 to the most current; and Highly Qualified Teacher Survey Results. Best source for data on NJ schools and districts.
Office of Institutional Research and Academic Planning (Rutgers)
Offers institutional characteristics, reports and surveys conducted at or about Rutgers. The Fact Book can be particularly helpful.
An online data and mapping application providing access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries.
Uses an interactive mapping tool to provide access to several major sources of demographic data: the U.S. Decennial Census of population and housing, the American Community Survey, and data on religion from InfoGroup and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study.
Statistical data from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
US Census data--most on national or state level. Footnotes often identify sources for additional data.
Multi-disciplinary source providing official statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system.
RU Libraries Workshops
New Brunswick Libraries workshops
A listing of workshops and events hosted by New Brunswick Libraries, available for a wide range of Rutgers audiences, including Masters and Graduate students. Topic categories include Data Manipulation/Wrangling, Data Science, Data Visualization, Qualitative Analysis, Quantitative Analysis and Statistics.
- The mother of all data sources on the population and on business establishments is the U.S. Census Bureau. For the latest available information, start with data.census.gov. You have two options to start your search on the landing page: a free-form single search bar or an advanced search filtering experience.
- At the bottom of the page you will find links to:
- Industry and NAICS Statistics for:
- Includes County Business Patterns for the number of establishments and employees by NAICS industry sector as well as Nonemployer Statistics for the number of establishments without paid employees, also organized by NAICS industry sector.
- Maps and Visualizations for:
- Data Profiles for:
- With links to topics including People and Population, Race and Ethnicity, Families and Living Arrangements, Health, Education, Business and Economy, Employment, Housing and Income and Poverty.
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Expert tips and tricks outlining how to access and use Census Bureau Data:
- New Updates to data.census.gov – June 2019
- Data Gems Tutorials - a series of "how-to" videos for data users looking for an easy and quick way to enhance their knowledge of Census data. They outline various concepts and techniques to improve navigation of the data.census.gov website and utilize data-access tools.