Research Guides: Master of Business & Science Capstone (22:799:648) (16:137:600): Business Resources

Company Research

The resources below are most useful when you are researching a particular company.

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
U.S. and Canadian company listings, including business and industry profiles, demographics, internal links to subsidiary and parent companies, senior executives and their titles, company news, business expenditures, business history, nearby businesses, and competitors.
MarketLine
Contains very detailed company reports that include a company history, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, and major competitors.
Select "Companies" on the homepage of the database and type in the name of your company.
Mergent Online
Use Mergent Online to search by sector, NAICS or SIC code. You can also search by industry via the Industry Analysis tab to get competitive comparisons and historical data by date or region.
PrivCo
PrivCo is an excellent resource for business and financial research on non-publicly traded companies, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies. The database currently includes profiles for over 900,000 companies, 20,000 private equity and venture capital firms and investors, and 100,000 private market deals.
Westlaw Campus Research
Obtain company information from a variety of sources, including News, SEC filings and Westlaw’s Company Investigator system.
more...less...
After connecting to Westlaw, the News,
EDGAR Filings & Disclosures and
Company Investigator links are featured on the right side of the browse box.

Industry & Market Research

The following resources are helpful for broad research across an industry or market, or for identifying competitor companies.

IBISWorld
Contains detailed industry reports for over 1,200 industries operating in the United States, China and globally. The U.S. content is further divided into state reports and economic profiles. Browse by industry category, NAICS code or search by keyword.
Industrial Statistics Database: INDSTAT 4
Located on the UNIDO (UN Industrial Development Organization) platform, this database contains manufacturing sector data from 1990 to the present, providing the ability to compare manufacturing data over time.
MarketLine
Contains company, industry and market sector reports.
Start with browsing or searching under "Industries." On the search results screen, find industry reports under "Industries."
Mergent Online
Database of corporate information on thousands of U.S. and foreign public and private companies. Search by company or sector to view U.S. competitors in the main search box. Includes links to recent news reports and reports on insider and institutional owners.
Mintel Reports
Product and industry market research reports covering both the U.S. and global markets in numerous niche areas. They contain comprehensive marketing and consumer research data, including information on trends, demographics, and the competitive landscape.
Sage Business
Access to a variety of business resources, including:
Business Cases - best practices in a variety of business disciplines
Business Foundations - an overview of major business theories and their applications
Research Methods Video: Market Research - a range of key research methods skills, techniques, and theories for carrying out effective and impactful market research

Find Articles

The following are article indexes which provide access to thousands of business publications. Finding articles about a particular company, industry, or product can provide additional context and access to very current information.

Business Source Premier
Search for a company, product, or industry. On the search results list, use the filters on the left side of the screen to refine your search.
Indexes the Harvard Business Review.
Factiva
Provides access to thousands of national and international news periodicals. Contains full text articles of the The Wall Street Journal.
Select the "Companies/Markets" tab at the top of the screen to find financial and stock data about a company.
The Economist
Harvard Business Review
The Wall Street Journal
The New York Times

Supply Chain

Institute for Supply Management
Not-for-profit professional supply management organization. Includes industry event listings and Supply Management News and Reports.
Mergent Online
Includes a Supply Chain tab (formerly Mergent Horizon) covering over 6,000 actively traded U.S. public companies, providing a 360 degree view of a company's competitors, suppliers, partners, and corporate customers, using a detailed hierarchical classification system for actual products and services.
ProcurementIQ
Procurement Reports featured as part of IBISWorld covering topics such as price drivers, pricing trends, ownership costs, supply market characteristics, supply chain risks, how to develop a request for proposal (RFP) and market share concentration.
ThomasNet
Directory of North American manufacturers and distributors, mostly of industrial products or components.

Refer to this list of Flowcharts to gain an understanding of the supply chain for certain products or processes.

Monitoring the Business Press

Each student is to monitor (at least) one business medium, on behalf of the class. After the first month, the class will rotate so each student can cover a second medium. Students are responsible for scanning the selected medium weekly and posting 50-200-word summaries of the most interesting item they see, with source links, to the course Discussions.

Link to Media Monitoring Module in Canvas

Media Monitoring Guide
Powerpoint Guide detailing best practices for MBS media monitoring

Media Alerts

Several Rutgers databases allow the ability to set up news/media alerts, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Access World News and EBSCO (which includes Business Source Premier and Regional Business News).

See the Media Alert Instruction Sheet below for details.

Media Alerts
Guide to setting up news/media alerts.

Presentation Guides

Verifying Resource Quality
Powerpoint outlining ways to verify Internet resources
Market Research Databases
Powerpoint highlighting various Rutgers databases to help do market research