Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

History of U.S.-Muslim Relations: Reporting the News

Want More?

The Media and the Message

Madeleine Albright and Warren Christopher on Media and Foreign Policy
Two former Secretaries of State talk about the impact of media on foreign policy. Paley Center for Media, June 18, 2007. Available for viewing at the Paley Center.
Split Vision: The Portrayal of Arabs in the American Media
Edited by Edmund Ghareeb. Revised and Expanded edition. Washington, D.C., American-Arab Affairs Council, 1983.
Dana Call Number: DS63.2 .U5S64 1983

Bibliographies

International Reporting by the American News Media: A Bibliography of Scholarship and Criticism, 1990-2001
William A. Dorman and Robert Manoff. Center for War, Peace, and the News Media, Boston University.
A Bibliography of Material on Islam, Muslims and the Media
Mohammad Ahmadullah Siddiqi. 1997.
Bibliography on Media Representation of the Middle East
From the American University in Cairo. Bibliography focusing on media representations of the Islamic world both internally and by “others.”

Historical Accounts

Historical New York Times
Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. The two+ most recent years are not included, use Access World News.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access.
Historical Washington Post
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 1993.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Wall Street Journal
The full image of articles published in the Wall Street Journal between 1889 and 1993.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900
The full text of articles, advertisements, illustrations etc., from American popular and literary magazines and journals that began publication between 1741 and 1900. Search by author, title, article type, publication title, date, and keywords in the full-text.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access
RSAP: Resources for Research
Lists 18th, 19th, and early 20th century magazines and newspapers that are available full-text on the web. In addition to single titles, lists newspapers included as part of large digital collections (e.g., Cornell's and University of Michigan's Making of American Collections). From the Research Society for American Periodicals.

Contemporary Accounts: U.S. Media

Access World News
Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access
Factiva
A vast archive which includes the full-text of 8,000 leading newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Ten to twenty year+ backfile for many titles.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access.
CNN - Middle East
Major news network

Contemporary Accounts: Non-U.S. Media

Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI)
The Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI) explores the Middle East through the region's media. Includes clips and translations of Arabic, Farsi, and Hebrew media, as well as original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends in the Middle East.
Al Jazeera English
The highly respected English-language news and current affairs channel based in Qatar. Starting in January 2007, Al Jazeera news stories are included in the Factiva database
World News Connection
Translated and English-language news and information from Africa, the Americas, Asia, Eurasia, Europe, and the Middle East..
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access.
Major English-language Media Sources Within the Islamic World
Annotated directory from the Saban Center for Middle East Policy at the Brookings Institution.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.