Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Sciences: RELATED Indexes and Databases

Tips for using the Libraries' website

Ask a Librarian - Have a question? Ask by chat, e-mail, phone, or in person, or see our FAQ's. Make an appointment with a subject librarian for a research consultation.

Connecting from off-campus You must log in to have access to all of the libraries' resources.

RELATED Indexes & Databases

If you were unable to find what you are looking for within the above "core" environmental science indexes and databases, or would like additional information, try the indexes and databases below:

  • Applied Science and Technology Full Text  
      
      
      
     
      
    NOTE THAT AFTER YOU "CONNECT," YOU MUST SELECT "APPLIED SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY" UNDER THE SUBJECT AREA LIST (LOWER-RIGHT PART OF THE SCREEN). Periodical coverage includes trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as special issues such as buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings.
  • Aquaculture Abstracts (ASFA)  
      
      
      
     
      
    Focuses on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. Provides information on cultivating marine, freshwater, and brackishwater species. References from related disciplines - such as water pollution, ecology, diseases, nutrition, oceanography, and limnology - are also included if they are directly applicable to aquacultural situations. Information on instruments, technological developments, culturing techniques, and new methods of husbandry are significant features.
  • Biological & Agricultural Index Plus  
      
      
      
     
      
    NOTE THAT AFTER YOU "CONNECT," YOU MUST SELECT "BIOLOGICAL & AGRICULTURAL" UNDER THE SUBJECT AREA LIST (LOWER-RIGHT PART OF THE SCREEN). Access the core literature of biology and agriculture-much of it from peer reviewed journals. About 45 percent of the focus is on agriculture.
  • Biological Sciences and Living Resources (ASFA 1)  
      
      
      
     
      
    Provides coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms including marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and their environments. Covers biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues. Fisheries receive particular attention, along with fishing methods, statistics, aquaculture, food technology, productivity, conservation, and marketing.
  • Biotechnology Research Abstracts  
      
      
      
     
      
    Provides access to international research on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science. Professionals may use this database for up-to-date perspectives on new developments and applications in their fields.
  • Ecology Abstracts  
      
      
      
     
      
    Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. Covers environmental problems such as depletion, erosion, and pollution.
  • GeoRef  
      
      
      
     
      
    Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers and reports, all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities. Includes access to GeoRef In Process. Can be searched on the GeoScience World platform, along with GeoScience World journals.
  • Health and Safety Science Abstracts  
      
      
      
     
      
    Provides coverage on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Topics include aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety, occupational safety, ergonomics, etc.
  • Marine Biotechnology Abstracts (AFSA)  
      
      
      
     
      
    Covers journals articles and patents in the area of molecular biology and molecular genetics which are applied specifically to marine and aquatic organisms. Includes topics such as increased production of seafood, development of new therapeutic drugs, engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants.
  • Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources (ASFA 2)  
      
      
      
     
      
    Provides coverage of oceanography: physical, descriptive, dynamical, chemical, geological, and biological aspects, as well as limnology, ocean engineering, and specific resources. Also includes international policy and legislation, meteorology and climatology, technology and engineering related to oceanography.
  • ProQuest Congressional Publications  
      
      
      
     
      
    Offers access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Indexes and provides selected full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. Includes member and committee information, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).
  • SciFinder  
      
      
      
     
      
    NOTE THAT IN ORDER TO USE SCIFINDER, YOU MUST FIRST *REGISTER* WITH SCIFINDER FROM AN ON-CAMPUS COMPUTER. The electronic version of the print publication "Chemical Abstracts," SciFinder comprehensively covers the world-wide literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports, government documents, etc.
  • Sustainability Science Abstracts  
      
      
      
     
      
    Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, and conservation and management of natural resources.
  • TOXLINE  
      
      
      
     
      
    Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology. Access information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, mutagens, and teratogens. This version of TOXLINE does *NOT* contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts.
  • Water Resources Abstracts  
      
      
      
     
      
    Provides content about water-related topics dealing with the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Major areas of coverage include: groundwater, lakes, estuaries, erosion and sedimentation, water supply and conservation, desalination, water yield improvement, water quantity management and control, watershed protection, water quality management, water resources planning, water law, engineering works and hydraulics.
  • Additional environmental databases  
      
     
      
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.