Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips for using the Libraries' website
Ask a Librarian - Have a question? Ask by chat, e-mail, phone, or in person, or see our FAQ's. Make an appointment with a subject librarian for a research consultation.
Connecting from off-campus You must log in to have access to all of the libraries' resources.
CORE Indexes & Databases
Most researchers will find what they are looking for within the following "core" environmental science indexes and databases:
- ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
Most of the core databases are included in this 'super-collection'. "The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications."
- Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality (ASFA 3)
Provides coverage of research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries. Major areas include: aquatic pollution and its effects on organisms, environmental changes, protective measures and control, wildlife management and recreation, public health, and dangerous organisms.
- EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements
The federal government issues hundreds of environmental impact statements each year - and this one resource provides detailed abstracts of all of those statements, also indexing them for easy reference.
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts
Covers technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. Other areas such as mines and quarry equipment, nuclear power plants, thermoelectric energy, tidal and wind power, treatment of sewage and industrial wastes, water analysis and treatment techniques are included.
- Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Index
Provides access to information on environmental issues. Topics include: air, marine, and freshwater pollution; detection, monitoring, and analysis of pollution; effects of oil spills; point and non-point pollution; sewage and wastewater treatment; industrial and municipal disposal of sludge; hazardous wastes and refuse; toxicology of pesticides; heavy metals; agricultural chemicals; risk assessment, environmental action; and other topics.
- New Jersey Environmental Digital Library (NJEDL)
An online library of literature and multimedia relating to the New Jersey environment, the collection includes documents and reports, scientific studies, photographs, videos, maps, and more. The map collection and the GIS data can be searched or browsed independently. Most of the items in this collection are considered "ephemeral" or "grey literature" - materials that are generally not available through common research tools like library catalogs and indexes.
- Oceanic Abstracts
Covers the worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
- Pollution Abstracts
Provides coverage on scientific research and government policies for air pollution, marine pollution, freshwater Pollution, sewage and wastewater treatment, waste management and land pollution. It also covers effects of pollution on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues.
- Toxicology Abstracts
Specifically put together for toxicologists, this ProQuest "Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management" subfile covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Surveying the literature for toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and myriad other substances, each issue publishes information concerning the in vivo effects of toxic substances.