Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips for using the Libraries' website
Ask a Librarian - Have a question? Ask by chat, e-mail, phone, or in person, or see our FAQ's. Make an appointment with a subject librarian for a research consultation.
Connecting from off-campus You must log in to have access to all of the libraries' resources.
Introduction to Online Resources
The Rutgers University Libraries offers access to hundreds of online resources. We realize that this might be a little overwhelming. To help you determine which one(s) to start with, this research guide identifies “core” and “related” indexes and databases, as well as a list of some additional resources an environmental sciences student might find useful. If you are looking for a particular index or database, however, you may find it more efficient to browse our alphabetical listing of resources. If you are new to researching, please look at Research in the Disciplines for an easy to follow guide.
Quick Pick Databases
Here are a few "quick pick" environmental science indexes and databases:
Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers and reports, all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities. Includes access to GeoRef In Process. Can be searched on the GeoScience World platform, along with GeoScience World journals.
ProQuest - access is restricted to the Rutgers community.
- Pollution Abstracts
Provides coverage on scientific research and government policies for air pollution, marine pollution, freshwater Pollution, sewage and wastewater treatment, waste management and land pollution. It also covers effects of pollution on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues.
- ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
- Web of Science (Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation Indexes)
An enhanced web version of Thomson/ISI's citation indexes, including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Coverage is strongest in the sciences (more than 6000 journals). Includes citations and references for articles in almost 9,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals – chosen for their credibility, influence, and relevancy – published from 1984 to the present. Can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles & authors.
Web of Knowledge - access is restricted to the Rutgers community.