Environmental Sciences
Introduction to Websites
There are many reliable Websites on the Internet, but there are also many questionable ones, so be sure to evaluate all resources before using them in your research! Please see Basic Website Evaluation to know when to trust a website.
The list of Websites mentioned on this guide are considered to be of good quality. However, this list is by no means comprehensive. If you have any recommendations for sites you believe should be added, please let us know. Thank you!
New Jersey Websites
- New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
- New Jersey Environmental Digital Library (NJEDL)
- New Jersey Environmental Public Health Tracking Network
- SEEDS- the State Environmental Education Directory of the NJDEP
The NJDEP is the state agency responsible for regulation and protection of environmental resources, and enforcement of pollution control. Air, land, and water resources are covered. Access to state environmental data is available in the Information Tools.
An online library of literature and multimedia relating to the New Jersey environment, the collection including reports, GIS data, images videos, maps, and more. Most of the items in this collection are generally not available through common research tools like library catalogs and indexes.
"The NJDOH and NJDEP collect data on health, human exposures and environmental hazards...Tracking data can be used to help understand patterns and trends in environmental hazards, levels of human exposure, and patterns and time trends in diseases." Access to data is available through this portal.
SEEDS promotes environmental education for school aged children through adults. Resources are organized by topic, including information about grants and scholarships.
Federal Government Websites
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
NOAA seeks to understand and predict changes in climate, weather, oceans, and coasts; to share that knowledge and information with others; and to conserve and manage coastal and marine ecosystems and resources.
- Science.gov
A gateway to government science information and research results, Science.gov searches over 45 databases and over 2,100 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
- US Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital Library
"The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain. Those not in the public domain are intended for personal, private use." - U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policy-making, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
EPA's mission is to protect human health and the environment.
- USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
NRCS works with landowners through conservation planning and assistance designed to benefit the soil, water, air, plants, and animals that result in productive lands and healthy ecosystems.
- U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and usable information.
- U.S. National Park Service
The U.S. National Park Service takes care of national parks and help to preserve local history.