Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Government Publications at Dana Library: Collections

About the government depository collection and library services at the Dana Library.

Basic Collection of Federal Publications

The Basic Collection contains vital sources of government information, including Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional DirectoryEconomic Report of the President, and United States Government Manual, all of which are available online and some are also in print and other formats.

Databases

National Climatic Data Center - Image & Publications System offers free access to several climatological data sets.

USA Trade Online, an online data resource provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, offers access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. The database is free to all users. To sign up for a free user account, click on the " Sign-Up Now" button on the website.

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is a compendium of materials available for scholarly research in the area of Homeland Security. The digital library collection is focused on strategy and policy in the various subject areas of Homeland Security Research and supports the curriculum of the Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS).

Rutgers Libraries provide access to more databases for Government Publications .

Collections

Dana Library currently selects and acquires approximately 60 percent of the federal depository publications, covering a wide range of subjects in a variety of formats, including paper, microfiche, CD-ROM, DVD, and online.

Of the subject areas in which it selects, the library maintains an excellent collection of government publications on business and economics issued by agencies, including the U.S. Census Bureau, the Department of Labor, the Small Business Administration, the International Trade Commission, and the Securities and Exchange Commission. It has a sizable collection on U.S. Census dating back to the 1790 census. Also particularly strong is the collection of health related publications, especially those dealing with health statistics. A rich collection of publications from the Department of State and the Department of Defense centered on military history supports undergraduate and graduate programs in history and political science. There is also a fair amount of the serial publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

However, the library does not select judicial materials. Congressional publications are also collected on a highly selective basis.

Electronic Resources for Government Information

Library Research Guides for Government Information cover various subjects including congressional research, census, resources in health and medicine, patents, trademarks, scientific maps, and technical reports.

This A to Z list contains hundreds of electronic federal, state and international government periodicals, all of which are accessible online on campus, and remotely by RU NetID login.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.