Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Medieval Studies: Medieval Manuscripts in Collections Near Rutgers

Includes medieval topics in all Arts and Humanities disciplines.

Medieval Manuscripts in Collections Near Rutgers

Medieval Manuscript Collections near Rutgers

The Princeton University Library has a collection of several hundred medieval manuscripts, described on the Web page of its Manuscripts Division.

Corsair (Pierpont Morgan Library) catalog of the Morgan Library's collections in New York City.  The Morgan  has an excellent collection of medieval and renaissance manuscripts.

Catalogue of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University / by Barbara A. Shailor.
Binghamton, N.Y.  : Medieval & Renaissance Texts & Studies, 1984-1992.
Alex Z6621.B4213 1984 v.1-4, Art v.1-2;

The Free Library of Philadelphia has 255 codices and 2000 individual leaves of medieval and renaissance manuscripts.  This collection's main page links to an online tour with many page images and to a search engine.

The University of Pennsylvania Libraries boast a large collection of medieval manuscripts including the library of the Inquisition historian Henry Charles Lea (1825-1909) and the Lawrence J. Schoenberg Collection at the Van Pelt Library.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.