Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Religion: Finding Articles

All aspects of Religion, including major belief systems.

How Do I Find an Article?

QuickSearch

QuickSearch is the search box that appears on the library home page and elsewhere on library pages.  It subsumes our catalog and many other databases for books, newspapers, and journals.  Hence your searches can access a great variety of material, but you may want to use the filters for material type, subject, date published, etc.  Also be aware that many indexes, like ATLA, Historical Abstracts, MLA, and IMB, are not included.  In the next column, the databases not  included in QuickSearch are in bold.  Be aware that many more specialized databases are not in QS, so to search them you have to log in to them separately.  Even for the ones that are in QS, searching the database in its native interface gives you the full benefit of its specialized indexing and other features.

Individual Online Indexes

** ATLA Religion Database. (1949+).
The best starting place for articles about Religion. Contains bibliographic records covering the research literature, including articles and book reviews, about religion in 26 languages. Includes some full-text articles.

MLA International Bibliography.  (1926+)
The most comprehensive index for literary studies, focusing on literary texts but also including film studies and popular culture.

RAMBI. (1966+)
A freely available interdisciplinary index to research in Jewish Studies, compiled by the Jewish National and University Library.

L'Annee Philologique. (1959+)
The primary database for classical studies and information on ancient Greece and Rome. Coverage includes Judaism and Early Christianity, Greek and Roman religion, and religions of the Near East in the classical period. Coverage includes articles in the modern European languages.

Anthropology Plus. (Late 19th Century to the Present)
A good source for anthropological approaches to religion, from prehistoric to the contemporary scene.

JSTOR.
Provides electronic access to back runs of journals, including areas like philosophy, classical studies, and history related to Religion.

Philosopher's Index. (1940+)
Useful for coverage of the philosophy of religion, religion and ethics, and other topics at the intersection of religion and philosophy.

PsycINFO. (1872+)
Covers the psychology of belief and religious practice.

Sociological Abstracts. (1963+)
Useful for coverage of the sociology of religion and religion & science.

Popular Literature vs. Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Literature

Storing Citations

RefWorks

            RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that enables you to:

Store bibliographic citations for books and articles
Generate bibliographies in the citation format (style) of your choice
Import citations into foot- or endnotes from your RefWorks account
Databases marked with * below will export citations to RefWorks
For other resources, like websites, you can build citations in RefWorks field by field

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.