Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Religion: Mission Studies

All aspects of Religion, including major belief systems.

Microfilms of Mission Archives in the Annex

Archives of the Church Missionary Society, West Africa. Reels 1-3. North Nigeria mission, 1915-1925 -- reels 4-7. Yoruba mission, 1915-1925. Reproduces papers of the church missionary society.
Church missionary society archive Reproduces papers of the Church Missionary Society held at the CMS Headquarters in London and the University of Birmingham Library; includes books of correspondence, reports, records, applications, journals, and minutes.
Church of Scotland missionary archive Archive from the National Library of Scotland. Part 1. Missions to India and China, 1829-1933.
Wesleyan Methodist Missionary Society. Methodist Missionary Society archives Minutes, reports and correspondence in mss. and typescript of the Wesleyan Methodist Missionary Society and the Primitive Methodist Missionary Society, which merged with the United Methodist Missionary Society in 1932 to form the Methodist Missionary Society. Contents: Introduction -- Wesleyan...

Missionary Studies Database

Missionary Studies is a digitized collection of primary sources from a global range of Christian missions, churches, and denominations produced throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. Geographic areas represented include Africa, East and South Asia, Australasia and the Pacific, and the Americas. The collection contains a wide variety of document types, including organizational records, personal papers, correspondence, journals, photographs, pamphlets, and ephemera. These primary sources are useful for the study of missionary, educational, and medical work; colonialism; political conflict; and the development of indigenous churches.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.