Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Religion: Online Collections

All aspects of Religion, including major belief systems.

Electronic Reference Books

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an [Rutgers Restricted Access] Articles on qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and related material, with longer essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies.

Encyclopaedia Judaica [Rutgers Restricted Access]
An electronic version of the 2007 edition of the 22 volume encyclopedia of Jewish life and thought. The encyclopedia features entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by specialists.

Encyclopedia of Buddhism [Rutgers Restricted Access] Describes the Buddhist world view, teachings and practices, as well as schools and sects. Also covered are Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, ceremonies, es well as the history of Buddhism and its blending with other religions.

New Catholic Encyclopedia [Rutgers Restricted Access] A 14-volume encyclopedia of Catholic history and theology, published in 2002.  The third, most current of the major Catholic encyclopedias. 

Rutgers Book and Text Collections

Cambridge Histories Online: Religious Studies.
Each volume of the Cambridge Histories includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The Religion Collection contains 4 titles covering topics the Bible, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam from Antiquity to the present.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
A searchable collection of works published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800. Categories of works include catechisms, liturgical books, prayer books, and sermons, including works of Cotton Mather and Jonathan Edwards.

Early English Books Online (EEBO), 1473-1700
A collection of books, pamphlets, periodicals, and other sources published in England or in the English language during a period that includes the Protestant Reformation. Included are English translations of the Bible, sermons, theological tracts, and polemical works. Researchers can view images of the original pages, and search some texts by key word.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
A vast collection of books published during the 18th Century in England or in the English language. Searchable by author, title, and words in the texts. A treasure trove of bibles, translations of the Koran, encounters with Eastern Religions, sermons, theological tracts, defenses of and attacks on religion.

Patrologia Latina
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, containing Latin Christian texts to the beginning of the thirteenth century.

Patrologiæ Græcæ
Compiled by J. P. Migne in the 19th century, contains Greek theological materials with Latin translations from the beginnings of Christianity through the Council of Florence in 1439.

Web Gateways and Free Collections

General Research Guides

Virtual Religion Index
This comprehensive guide covers most religions, as well as the psychology and sociology of religion.

Internet guides to major faiths include the following:

Berkeley Center for Jewish Studies

Buddhist Studies WWW Virtual Library

Specialized Resources

Bible Gateway

Hadith Collection

Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts

Jesus Seminar Forum

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.