Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Religion: Reference Books

All aspects of Religion, including major belief systems.

Reference Books and Online Religion Encyclopedias

Librarians and scholars may use the term "reference book"differently.  Encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, and periodical indexes are traditionally placed in library reference rooms and can't be checked out so that they're available for on site consultation.  Researchers increasingly expect to find this kind of information online.  RUL often acquires online variants, but licenses are expensive. 
Books in Alex Reference can now be checked out, and older reference books may often be found in Stacks. 
The scholar's definition of "reference book" often includes authoritative monographs and standard works outside of the library definition provided above.  The Cambridge Histories series fit both groups' definition, and we have many of the component volumes in print reference collections and also online

Licensed and freely available online encyclopedias for Religion

General Religion Sources

All online encyclopedias prefaced by ** are available on the Gale platform and can be searched simultaneously.

**Encyclopedia of Religion.
15 v, 2005. ALEXANDER STACKS, CARR, DANA, & ROBESON REFERENCE BL31.E46 2005

**Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions

Dictionary of Ethics, Theology, and Society.
LIBRARY ANNEX BJ63.D45 1996.

Dictionary of Feminist Theologies.
DOUGLASS STACKS & ROBESON REFERENCE BT83.55.D53 1996.

Dictionary of Third World Theologies.
LIBRARY ANNEX & ROBESON REFERENCE BR95.D486 2000.

Encyclopedia of American Religion, Religious Creeds.
ROBESON, DANA, & CARR REFERENCE BT990.E58 1988.

Encyclopedia of Monasticism.
ALEXANDER & ROBESON REFERENCE BL631.E63 2000. 2 volumes.

Encyclopedia of Religion and War.
LIBRARY ANNEX, ROBESON & DANA REFERENCE BL80.3.E53 2004.

Christianity

A. General

Encyclopedia of Christianity.
ALEXANDER & ROBESON REFERENCE BR95.E8913 1999. 4 volumes.

Oxford Companion to Christian Thought.
LIBRARY ANNEX, ROBESON REFERENCE BR95.O94 2000.

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd edition.
ALEXANDER STACKS, ROBESON, ALEXANDER, AND CARR REFERENCE,  BR95.O8 2005.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation.
ALEXANDER, ROBESON, DANA REFERENCE BR302.8.O93 1996. 4 volumes.

World Christian Encyclopedia. 2nd ed.
LIBRARY ANNEX, DANA REFERENCE BR157.W67 2001. 2 volumes.

B. Protestant Christianity

Encyclopedia of Protestantism.
ALEXANDER & ROBESON REFERENCE BX4811.3.E53 2003. 4 volumes.

C. Roman Catholic Christianity

**New Catholic Encyclopedia. 15 v, ROBESON REFERENCE BX841.N44 2002

D: Other Christian Traditions

Coptic Encyclopedia.
LIBRARY ANNEX BX130.5.C66 1991. 8 volumes.

Historical Dictionary of the Orthodox Church.
LIBRARY ANNEX, ROBESON REFERENCE BX 230.P76 1996.

Hinduism

Encyclopaedia of Hindu Deities, Demi-gods, Godlings, Demons, and Heroes.
ALEXANDER REFERENCE BL1216.B86 2000. 3 volumes
.

Encyclopaedia of Hinduism.
ALEXANDER REFERENCE BL1105.E53 1997. 15 volumes.

Islam

**Encyclopaedia of Islam, 2nd edition

**Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

Encyclopedia of canonical had¯ith
A guIde to the received body of sayinf attributed to the Prophet Mohammed.
ALEXANDER & DANA REFERENCE BP193.28.J89 2007

**Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an  5 v, 2001-6.
ALEXANDER REFERENCE BP133.E53 2001

Historical Dictionary of Islam.
Covers evolution and current period of Islam, history, philosophy, political movements, theory and practice. Also includes entries on crucial persons, imams and saints, ascetics and legal theorists.
ALEXANDER REFERENCE BP50.A33 2001.

Islamic World: Past and Present.
Covers history, politics, culture, people, places, and traditions. Sidebar on each page includes definitions of unfamiliar terminology and additional information. Also includes photographs and glossaries.
CARR & ROBESON REFERENCE DS35.53.I86 2004. 3 volumes.

New Encyclopedia of Islam.
Includes over 1300 entries covering beliefs, practices, history, political movements, art, architecture, ethnography, languages, science, and culture of the Islamic world.
CARR & ROBESON REFERENCE BP40.G42 2001.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World.
Includes 750 articles covering history, thought and practice, major concepts and trends, politics, law, conflicts and controversies, and Muslim communities and societies.
ALEXANDER, DANA, & ROBESON REFERENCE DS35.53.O95 1995. 4 volumes.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.