Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- America's Historical Newspapers. 1741-1922. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
- This is a fulltext database of over 1,500 early American newspapers published between 1741 and 1922.
- Chicago Defender. 1910-1975. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
- Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the Chicago Defender back to 1910.
- New York Times. 1851- . (Rutgers-restricted Access)
- Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. The two+ most recent years are not included; use Westlaw Campus Research to find more recent articles.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers. 1800-1900. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
- This is a fulltext database of about 500 American newspapers published during the 19th century.
- Philadelphia Inquirer. 1860-2001. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
- Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the Philadelphia Inquirer back to 1860. Use Access World News to find more recent articles from 1981+.
- Wall Street Journal. 1889-1993. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
- Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the Wall Street Journal back to 1889. Use Factiva to find more recent articles from 1984+.
- Washington Post. 1877-1993. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
- Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post back to 1877. Use Westlaw Campus Research to find more recent articles.
- The Los Angeles Times. 1881-current
- Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in The Los Angeles Times back to 1881.
- African-American Newspapers (Rutgers-restricted Access)
- This full-text database of several newspapers, published by and for African-Americans, currently comprises:
- Christian Recorder (Philadelphia: 1861-1902 [excluding 1892])
- Colored American (New York: 1837-1841)
- Douglass' Monthly (Rochester, NY: 1859-1863)
- Frederick Douglass' Paper (Rochester, NY: 1851-1855; continues The North Star)
- Freedom's Journal (New York: 1827-1829)
- National Era (Washington, D.C.: 1847-1860)
- North Star (Rochester, NY: 1847-1851)
- Provincial Freeman (Chatham, Ontario): 1854-1857)
- Weekly Advocate (New York: 1837)
- Latin American Newspapers (Rutgers-restricted Access)
- This collection contains scanned images of historical newspapers from North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Australian Newspapers: 1803-1954
- More than forty titles hosted by the Australian National Library. Articles are searchable by keyword, date, and selected categories.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
- "This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP)."
- RSAP: Resources for Research
- Lists 18th, 19th, and early 20th century magazines and newspapers that are available full-text on the web. In addition to single titles, lists newspapers included as part of large digital collections (e.g., Cornell's and University of Michigan's Making of American Collections). From the Research Society for American Periodicals.
See also: the section on this guide covering current and historical newspapers of New Jersey.
- Directory of New Jersey Newspapers, 1765-1970
- This basic directory of New Jersey newspapers was edited by William C. Wright and Paul A. Stellhorn (Trenton, NJ: New Jersey Historical Commission, 1977). (ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLSS, CARR, SPCOL/UA REF Z 6952 .N54 D57) Availability
- Early American Newspapers
- Microform (microcard and microfilm) collection of early American newspapers. Based on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 (2 vols, Worchester, MA: American Antiquarian Society, 1947; additions and corrections, 1961). (ALEXANDER REF Z6940. B855H, DANA REF Z6951 .B86 1962, DOUGLASS REF Z6941 .B768H, SPCOL/UA X-REF Z6940 .B855h) Scope expanded to include some titles published up to 1900. Individual titles in this collection may be located by searching QuickSearch, the Rutgers' online catalog. The collection includes fourteen 18th and 19th century New Jersey newspapers. Availability
- Popular Newspapers During World War II
- Microfilm edition of five British newspapers reproduced in their entirety for the period 1939 to 1945. Covers: Daily Express (London); Daily Mirror (London); News of the World (London); People (London); and the Sunday Express (London). Chronological arrangement; (ALEXANDER M/Film 2717). Guide. (ALEXANDER, CAMDEN REF PN 5118 .P66 guide) Availability