Skip to Main Content

Newspapers

Rutgers News

University Communications and Marketing (UCM): Universitywide Communications
The Department of University Communications and Marketing (UCM) is the universitywide communications and marketing office for Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. Go to UniversityWide Communications to view their list of publications and other media.
Rutgers Today
Rutgers University's online news publication for students, faculty, staff, and alumni.
Rutgers Focus
The Faculty and Staff Publication for Rutgers (1998-2006 historical archive) 

Student Newspapers

Rutgers Daily Targum, October 18, 1965.
View larger image

The Targum

Founded in 1869, the Rutgers Targum is one of the oldest college newspapers in the country. Read today's Daily Targum.

The Alexander Library in New Brunswick has the following issues available on microfilm:

Targum 1869-Jun 1880
Rutgers Targum Oct 1880-Jun 1892
Targum Oct 1892-Feb 16, 1944
Rutgers Cannon Mar 1945-Jun 1945
Targum Oct 1945-Apr 10, 1953
Rutgers Targum Apr 17, 1953-Dec 5, 1972
Rutgers Daily Targum    Dec 6, 1972-May 1, 1980
Daily Targum Sep 2, 1980-May 7, 1987

Copies of the Targum published after May 7, 1987 are available in Special Collections and University Archives.

The Alexander Library, as well as the Douglass Library, have the following Douglass College student newspapers available on microfilm:

Campus Chatter (New Jersey College for Women) November 1920-April 1921
Campus News (New Jersey College for Women) December 1921-March 20, 1940
The Caellian 1941-1973
The Douglass College Caellian November 1973-October 5, 1978
The Douglass Caellian October 12, 1978-September 9, 1982
The Caellian September 16, 1982-May 1, 1986

Copies of the Caellian published after May 1, 1986 are available in Special Collections and University Archives.

The Cook College Green Print is available on microfilm from September 24th 1973 to March 6, 1986 in the Alexander and Douglass libraries. Paper copies of 1975 to 2000 issues are also available at the Douglass Library; copies of Green Print published after March 6, 1986 are available in Special Collections and University Archives.

The Livingston College Medium is available on microfilm from October 1, 1970 to May 8, 1985 in the Alexander Library. Copies of the Medium published after May 8, 1985 are available in Special Collections and University Archives.
The Robeson Library in Camden has the following Camden student newspapers available on microfilm:
The Gleaner September 27, 1951-April 19, 1976
The Rutgers Gleaner April 21, 1976-April 30, 1986
The Rutgers-Camden Gleaner September 10, 1986-1995

A collection of unbound issues of the Rutgers-Camden Gleaner from 1991 to the present is also available at Robeson.
The Dana Library in Newark has the following Newark student newspapers available on microfilm:
Dana College Chronicle 1930-1935
The Rutgers Observer 1953-1975
University of Newark Observer 1936-1942
The Observer 1975-1980
The Observer 1942-1953
   

An incomplete collection of unbound issues of the Observer is also available in the Dana Library Archives.
 
Rutgers University Libraries
169 College Ave
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163

Contact Us Giving to the Libraries

Staff Resources

About Rutgers University Libraries
Contact the Libraries
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.