Special Collections & University Archives, Rutgers Alexander Librrary
Many manuscript collections in Special Collections & University Archives are offsite and all require special attention by an archivist. Please use the contact form to initiate a consultation about these or other mission-related manuscript collections.
Relevant collections include
Special Collections and Archives, Princeton Theological Seminary in Princeton
The Reading Room is quite small, with a limit of four researchers at a time by appointment. Researchers are asked to email directly (speccoll@ptsem.edu) to schedule an appointment and request materials. The room is open to researchers Tuesday-Thursday, 10am-3pm.
To search materials accessible in person, students can visit the Manuscript Collections Guide and keyword search ‘missions.’ Finding aids are also available for download through this site. Some popular collections that may be of interest to students in the course include:
- Sheldon Jackson Collection – Missionary to Alaska (1878-1908)
- Scott Family Collection – Family famously ‘martyred’ while on mission in China (1927-1938)
- Moffett Korea Collection – Samuel A. and Lucia Moffett, Samuel H. and Eileen Moffett, Missionaries to Korea (1870-2008)
- Betsey Stockton Collection – Former slave and first unmarried female American missionary sent abroad, Hawaii (1822-1991)
- John A. Mackay Collection – Missionary to Latin America (1991-2010)
- The Albert Andrew Fulton (China missions) manuscript collection. 30 volumes of his missionary diary
Burke Library, Union Theological Seminary at Columbia University in New York City
Rutgers students must check in for each visit at the Library Information Office in Butler Library (on the main campus of Columbia, 114th St. and Broadway) during business hours with proof of vaccination and Rutgers ID. Hours can be found here. You may also wish to consult a map of Columbia University's main campus, where the Library Information Office (LIO) is located. The Burke Library of Union Theological Seminary is a branch of Columbia University Libraries and located a short walk uptown at 3041 Broadway.
To make an appointment and request special collections material, researchers are required to register their own Special Collections Research Account. You will need to provide a current address, email, telephone number, and other contact information. Upon your first visit, you will need to validate your account in-person with government issued photo identification or Columbia ID, and we will take your photo for security purposes.
Once you have created your Special Collections Research Account, you will be able to request appointments and materials from the same online portal. Up to 6 items or archives boxes may be requested per appointment. Burke staff will reply to requests via email. Reminder: Please do not travel to the Burke Library until you have an appointment confirmed by Burke staff.
Notable mission archives in the Burke Library include:
Burke [UTS] <Offsite> - Request at Burke Library (Non-Circ)
United Methodist Church Archives, Drew University in Madison, NJ
Use the research request form before visiting. Major collections about the missionary activity of this church include: