Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Transnational American Studies: Urban Environments

The City

Cityscaping: Construction and Modelling Images of the City
Therese Fuhrer, Felix Mundt and Jan Stenger, edtiors. Boston, De Gruyter, 2015. Available?
Los Angeles: A Chronological & Documentary History, 1542-1976.
Dobbs Ferry, NY, Oceana Publications, 1978. Available?
Philadelphia Neighborhoods: Histories, Plans and Futures
Over 85 Philadelphia City Planning Commission Reports prepared from 1946 to 1990.
From Traditional to Reformed: A Review of the Land Use Regulations in the Nation's 50 Largest Metropolitan Areas. August 2006
Report by Rolf Pendall, Robert Puentes, and Jonathan Martin. A Brookings Insitution Research Brief.

Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1934- . The comprehensive index to journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, city planning, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Rutgers-restricted Access.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. International and interdisciplinary in scope. Among other databases includesPAIS International and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
NUTran: The Northwestern Transportation Library Collections
Search the books, journals, journal articles, and digital collections of one of the major Transportation libraries in the U.S.

The Built Environment

Cities and Buildings Database
"The Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web."
Emporis Database
Good source of basic technical data as well as images of specific buildings.

Digital Collections

TESSA: Digital Collections of the Los Angeles Public Library
PhillyHistory.org: Image Search
Search the photo archive for the city of Philadelphia--contains over 2 million photo records dating back to the late 1800's.
Photographs From the New York Historical Society: Times Square Massage Parlors and Sex Shops

Regional Archive Portals

Philadelphia Area Archives Research Portal (PAARP)
LA as Subject
Online directory to over 250 archival collections documenting the history of Los Angeles.
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.