Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Transnational American Studies: Finding Newspaper Articles

Other Newspapers

American Popular Entertainment Collection
Digital facsimiles of historic newspapers and trade journals published for the entertainment industry in the US between 1853 and 1929. Part of the Illinois Digital Newspapers Collections.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
Digitized newspapers originally published by the incarcerated in U.S. prisons. Rutgers-restricted Access

European Newspaper Archives

European Newspaper Archives
Links to (mostly) free European newspaper archives. Includes British, Irish, Welsh, German, French, Dutch, and other collections. From Xooxle Answers.

Latin American Newspapers

Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de Mexico
The National Digital Newspaper Library of Mexico (HNDM) is the largest virtual repository of images from newspapers and magazines printed in Mexico between 1722 and 2010. Online availability depends on copyright status.
Brazilian Newspapers
Five newspapers, the majority ranging from 1825 to 1927, digitized by the University of Florida Libraries.

ICON database

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
The most comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats.

The Press Then and Now

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Combined Search
Search and display the full image of articles published in six historical newspapers: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the New York Times (1851- three years prior to the current year), the Philadelphia Inquirer (November 7, 1860 – December 31, 2001), the Pittsburgh Gazette (August 29, 1786 – December 31, 2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1999), and the Washington Post(1877-2000). Rutgers-restricted Access
Historical New York Times
Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. The two+ most recent years are not included; use Factiva to find more recent articles. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Philadelphia Inquirer
Full image of articles published in the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860 to 2001. Rutgers-restricted Access
Historical Washington Post
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 2004. Rutgers-restricted Access.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
Search or browse over 6 million pages (over 42,000,000 articles) of 26 significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922, as well as issues of several current California newspapers.
La Opinion
Digitized issues of the historic LA newspaper from the 1920s to 2008.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Full-text database of 500 newspapers published between 1800 and 1900. Rutgers-restricted Access.
The Times Digital Archive (London, England)
Search and display the full image of articles published between 1785 and 2012. Rutgers-restricted Access
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
Nearly five hundred newspaper titles from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, most published in London, but some from other parts of Great Britain and a few from overseas. Rutgers-restricted Access

More Recent Coverage

Access World News
Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Rutgers-restricted Access
Westlaw Campus Research
"News" portion indexes the full text of many newspapers.Rutgers-restricted Access
Factiva
A vast archive which includes the full-text of 8,000 leading newspapers(including the New York Times), magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Ten to twenty year+ backfile for many titles. Rutgers-restricted Access.

The Ethnic Press

American Indian Newspapers
Digitized American Indian newspapers dating from 1828 to 2016. Rutgers-restricted Access
Chicago Defender
The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. Search and display the full text of articles published between 1910 and 1975. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press back to 1960. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
Search or browse Mexican and Mexican American publications, primarily daily and weekly newspapers, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the present. A project of the University of Arizona.
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.