Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Transnational American Studies: Primary Source Collections

European Views of the Americas

European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
Searchable index to the volumes of the European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas series.

Ads

Ad*Access
Search or browse over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
AdViews
Thousands of television commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s.

Propaganda: Posters and Other Visual Materials

American Social Health Association Posters
From the University of Minnesota Libraries.
World War I Posters
Approximately 1,900 posters digitized created between 1914 and 1920. The majority of the posters were printed in the United States, howeverpPosters from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, the Netherlands, and Russia are included as well. From the Library of Congress.
World War II Poster Collection at Northwestern University Library
Over 300 posters issued by U.S. Federal agencies.
World War II Propaganda Films and IU
Streaming access to over 200 War-era films from IULMIA's collections. In addition to films focused on war news and topice, includes films about domestic life and economy, agriculture, workplace training, and the cultures of the allied nations.
War Poster Collection
American, British, German and Dutch posters from World War I and World War 2. From the University of Washington Libraries.
NSA Cold War Posters
135 posters produced by the National Security Agency (NSA) in the 1950s and 1960s.

Archival Databases

ArchiveGrid
Index to archival collection descriptions and finding aids.Over 2,500 libraries, museums, and archives worldwide have contributed nearly a million record descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Rutgers-restricted Access
Worldcat
Union catalog of over 179 million bibliographic records for titles owned by libraries that participate in/contribute to OCLC. As part of "Advanced Search" allows you to limit your search to "archival materials". (Rutgers-restricted Access)
OAC: Online Archive of California
Detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

Digital Libraries

Library of Congress: Digital Collections
The Library of Congress site offers access to more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The collections include manuscripts, photographs, posters, maps, books, pamphlets, and sheet music, as well as sound recordings and motion pictures and can either be browsed or searched.
Digital Public Library of America
Over 40 million "images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States."
Gallica
Hugh digital library from the Bibliotheque Nationale de France.
Europeana
Digitized collections from over 2,200 contributing cultural heritage organizations across Europe.

Collections

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A database of primary source collections for the 19th Century. Primarily British and American, but including material from other nations and in other languages. Collections include, among others, Asia and the West, Europe and Africa, Photography: The World Through the Lens, and Women: Transnational Networks. Rutgers-restricted Access
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Digitized primary sources, including photographs, posters, manuscripts, pamphlets, typescripts, and ephemera, representing mass culture. Rutgers-restricted Access
CIA Declassified Documents: The Princeton Collection
A collection of declassified analytic documents on the former Soviet Union, produced by the CIA's Directorate of Intelligence between 1951 and 1991. Documents were originally released for a 2001 conference held at Princeton University that focused on the role of intelligence in the Cold War.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Full text access to a broad range of previously classified federal documents spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. Rutgers-restricted access
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Books, images, essays, and primary documents organized around "document projects" that pose a question relating to the role of women in U.S. social movements. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Women and Social Movements, International: 1840 to Present
A collection of primary materials. Includes the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made. Rutgers-restriced Access

LGBTQ Collections

Lesbian Herstory Archives
"The world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities." Includes major photograph and oral history collections. In Park Slope, Brooklyn.
New York Public Library Gay and Lesbian Collections & AIDS/HIV Collections
The Manuscripts and Archives Division of the New York Public Library holds over 100 collections pertaining to the history and culture of gay men and lesbians, and to the history of the AIDS/HIV epidemic.
William Way LGBT Community Center Archives Collections
"Philadelphia's most extensive collection of personal papers, organizations records, periodicals, audiovisual material and ephemera documenting the rich history of our LGBTQ community." The Wilcox Archives documents LGBT history, generally, and the LGBT history of Philadelphia and the Delaware Valley, specifically. Includes digital collections
Digital Transgender Archive
An online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.