Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Transnational American Studies: Africana

The Middle Passage

Slavevoyages.org
Includes the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database, which has data on 36,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866; the Intra-American Slave Trade Database, with data on approximately 10,000 slave voyages within the Americas; the African Names Database, which lists 91,491 Africans taken from captured slave ships or from African trading sites with, where available, age, gender, origin, country, and places of embarkation and disembarkation of each individual; as well as an Image Gallery of people, places, vessels and manuscripts of the Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trades.
Slave Ship Sailors and Their Captive Cargoes, 1730-1806
Emma Christopher. New York, Cambridge University Press, 2006. Available?
Atlas of the Transatlantic Slave Trade
David Eltis and David Richardson. New Haven, Conn., Yale University Press, 2010. Available?
A Collection of Documents on the Slave Trade of Eastern Africa
R.W. Beachey. London, Collins, 1976. Available?
A Slaving Voyage to Africa and Jamaica: The Log of the Sandown, 1793-1794.
Samuel Gamble. Bloomington, IN., Indiana University Press, 2002. Available?
African Voices on Slavery and the Slave Trade
Alice Bellagamba, Martin A Klein, and Sandra E. Greene. New York, Cambridge University Press, 2012. Available?

Libraries

Catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Catalog of the New York Public research library "devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world." The Schomburg Center contains over 5,000,000 items. [Note: When beginning a search session, select "Schomburg Center" from the pull-down menu on the right.]  Some Schomburg resources are available as part of the NYPL Digital Gallery.

Databases

Africa-Wide
Search across 30 databases providing access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa. Indexes books, journals, newspapers, government publications, and popular magazines. Rutgers-restricted Access
Black Thought and Culture
Full text of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writing (articles, essays, books, speeches, interviews, pamphlets and correspondence) by leading figures in African American life and culture. Primarily 20th century materials, although includes some materials back to the 18th century. Includes a complete run of the Black Panther newspaper, 1966 through 1980. Rutgers-restricted Access

Newspapers

African-American Newspapers Rutgers-restricted Access
Full-text database of historical newspapers published by and for African-Americans. Includes:
  • Christian Recorder (Philadelphia: 1861-1902 [excluding 1892])
  • Colored American (New York: 1837-1841)
  • Douglass' Monthly (Rochester, NY: 1859-1863)
  • Frederick Douglass' Paper (Rochester, NY: 1851-1855; continues The North Star)
  • Freedom's Journal (New York: 1827-1829)
  • National Era (Washington, D.C.: 1847-1860)
  • North Star (Rochester, NY: 1847-1851)
  • Provincial Freeman (Chatham, Ontario): 1854-1857)
  • Weekly Advocate (New York: 1837)
Chicago Defender
The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. Search and display the full text of articles published between 1910 and 1975. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1960 to the present. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Understanding Hate in America
Full text access to eleven Ku Klux Klan newspapers, six pro-Klan newspapers, and two anti-Klan newspapers published between 1921 and 1932.

Primary Source Collections

Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice, 1490-2007
Digitized primary source material from archives around the world relating to the history of slavery, with a focus on the various forms slavery has taken around the globe, abolition movements, and the legacy of slavery. Document types include manuscripts, government publications, court records, pamphlets, books, maps, images, testimonials, and voyage logs.
Missionary Studies
Digitized collection of primary sources from a global range of Christian missions, churches, and denominations produced throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes organizational records, personal papers, correspondence, journals, photographs, pamphlets, and ephemera.
African American Communities
Primary source material related to African American community life from the mid-19th century through the late 20th century with a focus on communities in Atlanta, Chicago, and Brooklyn and towns and cities in North Carolina. Rutgers-restricted resource
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.