Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Transnational American Studies: Music

Sound Collections

The National Jukebox
Recordings from the collections of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives, including more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
Smithsonian Global Sound
Over 3000 online audio recordings (over 45,000 tracks) of American folk, blues, bluegrass, jazz, spoken word, and world music. Rutgers-restricted Access
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music
CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. Over 1,200 complete CDs (7,500 compositions). Rutgers-restricted Access

Jazz Discography

The Jazz Discography
Information on over 183,000 jazz recording sessions from 1896 to the present. Information for each session includes personnel, place and date of recording, song titles, matrix numbers, and issue (catalog) numbers for a variety of formats, from 78 rpm discs to CDs and downloads. Rutgers-restricted access

Databases

Music

Music Index
1964- . Index to over 850 music periodicals published in more than 40 countries. Indexes book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news, as well as articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Rutgers-restricted Access
RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature
1967- . The world's largest, continuously updated bibliography of music literature, providing broad international coverage including records in 140 languages from over 10,000 journals. Rutgers-restricted Access
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text
Index to music magazines and journals published in Europe and North America between 1760 and 1966. Rutgers-restricted Access
Music Magazine Archive
A collection of digital magazines focused on 20th and 21st century genres such as Rock, Folk, and Hip-Hop & Rap, 1946-2016. Rutgers-restricted Access

Sheet Music

The Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection
Digital collection from the Johns Hopkins University Special Collections. Includes over 29,000 pieces of American popular music, spannning 1780 to 1980. Especially strong in 19th and early 20th century popular music. Subject browse includes a "City & town life" catagory.

Dance

Dance in Video
A collection of over 1200 dance productions, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th and 21st centuries.
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.