Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Middle Eastern Studies : Find Background and Overviews

Resources and content of interest for researchers and students of Middle Eastern Studies

Dictionaries

Rutgers-Access:

The Essential Middle East, a Comprehensive Guide

Hiro, Dilip. Library Annex, DS43.H57 2003.

A Political and Economic Dictionary of the Middle East by David Seddon, online, 2004.

Historical dictionary of women in the Middle East and North Africa

Talhami, Ghada Hashem, online, 2013.

Historical dictionary of international organizations in Africa and the Middle East

Mays, Terry M, online, 2015.

Historical dictionary of Middle Eastern intelligence

Kahana, Ephraim.; Suwaed, Muhammad, online, 2009.

The Biographical dictionary of the Middle East

Shimoni, Yaacov, Library Annex Stacks, DS62.4.S53 1991.

 

Some of the dictionaries are a little out-of-date. The Historical Dictionary of international organizations in Africa and the Middle East is the most up-to-date dictionary, being published in 2015.

 

Handbooks on the Middle East

Rutgers-access: Political Handbook of the Middle East by CQ Press, Alexander Library Stacks, JQ1758.A58P65 2006. 

Routledge Handbook on human rights and the Middle East and North Africa by Anthony Tirado Chase, Law Library Camden, JC599.M53 R68 2017.

Governance in the Middle East and North Africa: A Handbook by Abbas Kadhim, Ebook central academic complete, 2013.

Handbook of Political Science Research on the Middle East and North Africa by Bernard Reich, Library Annex Stacks, JQ1758.A58H36 1998. 

Mass Media in the Middle East: A Comprehensive Handbook by Yahya R. Kamalipour & Hamid Mowlana, Library Annex Stacks P92.M5M37 1994.

A Middle East studies handbook, by Jere L. Bacharach, at Dana and Robeson Libraries, DS61.B3 1984. 

Remember, some of these handbooks are a little dated.

 

 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.