Featured Book
"If there's a book that you want to read, but it hasn't been written yet, then you must write it." -Tony Morrison
We did!
The Librarian's Guide to Bibliotherapy by ISBN: 9780838936627Publication Date: 2023-11-01
Full Text Books: Highlighted Collection
- The SALIS Collection: Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs from the Internet ArchiveThe collection includes seminal articles, full-text books, reports, documents, and other literature regarding alcohol, tobacco, psychoactive substances (such as marijuana, opioids, heroin, and cocaine), and other drugs. Its subjects include the use and misuse of chemicals, the role of education and prevention, physical health and mental health aspects of substance use, drug policy, legal issues, and more. It is international in its scope and covers a wide number of disciplines.
Books Online: Browse for Full-text
The following two searches are only examples of the results. Feel free to experiment with your own search terms.
Google Books on Alcohol and Drug Addiction (since January 1, 2000)
Books from HathiTrust on Alcohol and Drug Addiction (past 15 years)
Google Books Search Box
Book Selection
Selecting books for the library collection or for a book club to discuss is at the discretion of the librarians, who are familiar both with the needs of their readers and the available resources. Potential titles for the use of bibliotherapy in addictive disorders include, but are not limited to, self-help books, popular culture, memoirs, biographies, fiction, classics, and historical titles.
Sources for reviews on a particular title:
- Kirkus: https://www.kirkusreviews.com/
- The New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/pages/books/index.html
- Publishers Weekly: http://www.publishersweekly.com/
- Library Journal: http://reviews.libraryjournal.com/
- School Library Journal: http://www.slj.com/category/reviews/
- Booklist: http://www.booklistonline.com/book-reviews
- American Reference Books Annual: http://www.arbaonline.com/
- R4R Sample Reading ListA short browseable list of potential titles collected by the R4R team, sample only.
Training in Bibliotherapy
Although there are no officially accredited degree-awarding programs in bibliotherapy, several organizations have taken the initiative to train potential bibliotherapists, ranging from library-related groups to college programs in psychology all over the world. Here are some examples of such programs, which have not been evaluated or endorsed by the Reading for Recovery project, the Rutgers Center of Alcohol Studies, the Carnegie-Whitney corporation, the American Library Association, or Rutgers University Libraries.
- International Federation for Biblio/Poetry TherapyIncorporated in 1983, the International Federation for Biblio/Poetry Therapy sets standards of excellence in the training and credentialing of practitioners in the field of biblio/poetry therapy and authorizes qualified individuals to practice as mentor/supervisors.
- VA Bibliotherapy Resource GuideMental Illness Research, Education and Clinical Centers. Office of Mental Health Services, Veterans Affairs Central Office
- Central Europe 2020 Bibliotherapy project"The article envisions a new international bibliotherapy project, linking libraries with mental health work, youth work and carrier counselling."
- Alain de Botton on the Bibliotherapy program at the School of Life (video, 1:41)"The London-based School of Life’s Bibliotherapy program has a growing fan-base among Londoners who appreciate its relatively low-cost, non-medicalized approach to the anxieties that are characteristic of modern life."
- Education and Networking in Hungarian Bibliotherapy by Judit BéresShort article in English about bibliotherapists training in Hungary, published in Finnish.
- Poster: Training Bibliotherapists in Europe 1Reading for Recovery: Training Bibliotherapists in Hungary
- Poster: Training Bibliotherapists in Europe 2Reading for Recovery: Person-centered bibliotherapy
Sample Materials for Book Discussions
The Odyssey of Sergeant Jack Brennan by ISBN: 1101870982Publication Date: 2035-01-01"Jack Brennan is a Marine Corps sergeant whose infantry squad has been cleared to return home from a grueling deployment to Afghanistan. A few years prior, Sergeant Brennan lost one of his closest friends, a young combat veteran, to suicide and has vowed to do everything in his power to keep his Marines from a similar fate. On their last night in-country, Brennan shares his version of The Odyssey to help prepare his squad for the transition back to the home front. By retelling Homer's epic about Odysseus' difficult journey home after the Trojan War, and weaving in the stories of contemporary Marines, The Odyssey of Sergeant Jack Brennan powerfully conveys the profound challenges today's veterans face upon returning from combat even as it tells "the oldest war story of all time."
Discussion Sheet with suggestions for discussions including a synopsis & review of the title, a few sample questions, and some guidelines in a printable format (pdf). See more like this under the Download & Share tab.
- R4R Discussion Sheet: The Odyssey of Sergeant Jack Brennan Worksheet for discussing "The Odyssey of Sergeant Jack Brennan" in a word doc.
- R4R Bookmark: The Odyssey of Sergeant Jack Brennan A sheet of five bookmarks, double sided, ready to print.
Recovery Reading Lists on the Web
- Lesbian books on alcoholism and sobriety - A list from GoodreadsFiction and nonfiction works that address the issues of alcoholism and recovery within the lesbian community.
- Under the Influence - A list from GoodreadsBooks with alcohol, drugs, tea, coffee, etc. in the title or author's name.
- Recovery: Drug Addiction in Romance Novels - A list from GoodreadsRomance novels where the Hero or Heroine struggles with drug addiction. They be actively using or in recovery.
- Drunken Masters - A list from GoodreadsGreat books written by or about drunkards. Or strange books floating downstream on a river of booze.
- 7 Addiction Memoirs: Books About Hitting Rock Bottom (Slide show from Huffington Post)Take a look at these memoirists who bottomed out and lived to tell their tale.
- HAMS: Harm Reduction for Alcohol Recommended ReadingHAMS is a peer-led and free-of-charge support and informational group for anyone who wants to change their drinking habits for the better.
Yound Adult Recovery Reading Lists on the Web
- YA Resources on the Science of Addiction (U Washington)Recommended book list, as well as web resources, videos, teaching aids and more
- YA Drug & Substance Abuse Novels - A list from GoodreadsTeen books about drug and alcohol abuse.