R4R @ Rutgers: Reading for Recovery

Is your addiction taking control of your life? This book provides an integrative, seven-step program to help you finally overcome drug and alcohol addiction, once and for all. Winner of the 4Th International Beverly Hills Book Awards in the category of Addiction & Recovery! If you struggle with addiction, seeking treatment is a powerful, positive first step toward eventual recovery. But gaining an understanding of the causes of addiction--such as feelings of helplessness or loss of control--is also crucial for recovery. In this book, addiction expert Suzette Glasner-Edwards offers evidence-based techniques fusing cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), motivational interviewing, and mindfulness-based relapse prevention to help you move past your addictive behaviors. On the long road to addiction recovery, you need as many tools as possible to help you stay sober and reach your destination. That's why this is the first book to combine research-proven motivational techniques, CBT, and mindfulness-based strategies to help you create your own unique recovery plan. The book can be used on its own or as an adjunct to rehab or therapy. It also makes a wonderful resource for loved ones and professionals treating addiction. If you're ready to take that important first step toward recovery, this book can help you beat your addiction and get back to living a full, meaningful life.

Save hours of time-consuming paperwork. The Addiction Progress Notes Planner, Fifth Edition provides prewritten session and patient presentation descriptions for each behavioral problem. The prewritten progress notes can be easily and quickly adapted to fit a particular client need or treatment situation. Saves you hours of time-consuming paperwork, yet offers the freedom to develop customized progress notes. Organized around 44 behaviorally based presenting problems including depression, gambling, nicotine abuse/dependence, chronic pain, and eating disorders. Features over 1,000 prewritten progress notes summarizing patient presentation, themes of session, and treatment delivered. Provides an array of treatment approaches that correspond with the behavioral problems and DSM-5 diagnostic categories in The Addiction Treatment Planner, Fifth Edition Offers sample progress notes that conform to the latest ASAM guidelines and meet the requirements of most third-party payers and accrediting agencies, including CARF, TJC, COA, and the NCQA Incorporates new progress notes language consistent with Evidence-Based Treatment Interventions

The latest information on gender-specific treatment of addiction and recovery can be found in this go-to manual for parents seeking direction to help their daughters. Step-by-step guidelines present tools for recognizing substance abuse in young women; communicating with them and their care providers; dealing with relapse and long-term recovery; and managing parental shame, guilt, fear, anger, and loving detachment. Linda Dahl is the author of six books, includingMorning Glory (2012), chosen as aNew York Times Notable Book of the Year. A mother of two, she currently resides in New York.

A breakthrough recovery plan for women who struggle with alcoholism, based on a groundbreaking new model.
Tens of millions of women today drink to excess and their numbers are growing. Now Dr. Kitty Harris, an experienced counselor and therapist who is herself a recovering alcoholic with more than thirty years of sobriety, presents a new model for recovery that focuses on treating the pain in women's lives that can lead to a vicious cycle of addiction--not on the shame that fuels it. Combining her personal and professional experience, Dr. Harris offers tools that can help women who want to recover as well as friends or family members who are seeking help for a loved one.
*Focuses on dealing with the pain associated with alcoholism in women, not reinforcing the shame.
*Discusses the different types of female drinking habits, including binge drinking and drunkorexia
*Takes a plain-language, jargon-free approach that is easy to understand and shares the stories of recovering women of all ages and from all walks of life
*Is written by Dr. Kitty Harris, Director of The Center for the Study of Addiction and Recovery at Texas Tech University, with twenty-five years of private clinical experience working with adults and adolescents

A highly innovative collection of activities for use with groups and individuals in addiction treatment settings. Designed to creatively utilize the mind-body connection, these activities are engaging and fun, linked with evidence-based interventions and drawn on emerging brain research, providing a window into reaching clients who may be resistant to traditional talk therapy. Kay Colbert, LCSW, works in private practice in Dallas, Texas, specializing in adult addiction, mental health, trauma, pain management, anxiety, and women's issues. Roxanna Erickson-Klein, PhD, LPC, works in private practice in Dallas, Texas, and serves on the Board of Directors of the Milton H. Erickson Foundation.

The Co-Occurring Disorders Treatment Planner provides treatment planning guidelines and an array of pre-written treatment plan components for treating patients coping simultaneously with mental illness and serious substance abuse-literally millions of Americans. Geared equally to both addictions counselors and other therapists, the book includes treatment guidelines for for adults and adolescents; for people dealing with alcohol, drug, or nicotine addictions; for people with depression, PTSD, eating disorders, ADHD, and a large range of other common illnesses.

"This is a straightforward, rich resource for anyone who lives with, and loves, an addict." --Publishers Weekly.
Everyone suffers when there's an addict in the family. Written by an expert in alcohol and drug addiction and recovery, this no-nonsense guide will help you understand the causes of addiction, end enabling behaviors, support your loved one's recovery, and learn how to cope with relapses. If you're the family member of an addict, you may feel confused, guilty, and scared of doing the wrong thing. And when you don't know how to help, you may find yourself in a codependent role, trying so hard to keep your addicted loved one alive, out of jail, or emotionally appeased that you may actually prevent them from realizing they need help. Drawing on her own personal experience with her brother's addiction, Addict in the House offers a pragmatic, step-by-step guide to dealing with a loved one's addiction, from accepting the reality of the disease to surviving what may be repeated cycles of recovery and relapse. You'll learn how to encourage your addicted loved one to get help without forcing it, and finally find the strength to let go of codependence. With this revealing and straightforward book, you'll have the support you need to take an honest look at how addiction has affected the family, cope with the emotional hurdles of having an addicted family member, create and maintain firm boundaries, and make informed decisions about how to best help your loved one.

Most books on recovery from addiction focus on either the addict or the family. While most alcoholics and addicts coming out of treatment have a recovery plan, families are often left to figure things out for themselves. In It Takes a Family, Debra Jay takes a fresh approach to the recovery process by making family members and friends part of the recovery team, beginning in the early stages of sobriety. Through straightforward, compassionate language, she outlines a structured model that shows families how to work collaboratively and as individuals to find an appropriate balance between personal responsibility and building a circle of support to meet the challenges common to the first year of recovery. Together, family members will address the challenges of enabling, denial, and pain, while developing their communication skills through practical, easy-to-follow strategies and exercises designed to create transparency and accountability. With this invaluable guide, family members work together as they reinvent their relationships without the all-consuming dysfunction of active addiction.

Recovering from an addiction is tough enough, but when you throw in the tremendous responsibilities of motherhood, resisting cravings and remaining abstinent--much less enjoying the rewards of sobriety--can seem like an impossible challenge. Rosemary O'Connor brings her many years of experience working with women in recovery to addressing the key life issues mothers face at all stages of their recovery path. At once affirming, engaging, and practical, A Sober Mom's Guide to Recovery combines down-to-earth advice with the inspiring stories of recovering moms, including the author's, to offer guidance on over fifty vital topics, including stress, relapse, relationships, sex and intimacy, spirituality, shame, gratitude, dating, and, of course, parenting. The result is an inspirational and practical handbook, not just for getting through the day, but for building a sense of well-being that radiates outward, allowing you to be present with your kids and loved ones, and find hope for the future.

The author of the recovery mainstay 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery offers a fresh list of "smart" things to do to attain and sustain emotional sobriety. Whether it's called "dry drunk" or "white knuckle sobriety," it's that stage in recovery when we realize that "putting the plug in the jug" isn't enough. The next step is taking responsibility for the emotional immaturity that fuels our addictive personality and has a tremendous impact on ourselves and others.

To grow in recovery, we must grow up emotionally. This means getting honest with ourselves and facing up to the self-defeating thoughts and actions that put our sobriety at risk.[...] In simple, down-to-earth language, Allen Berger explores the twelve most commonly confronted beliefs and attitudes that can sabotage recovery. He then provides tools for working through these problems in daily life. This useful guide offers fresh perspectives on how the process of change begins with basic self-awareness and a commitment to working a daily program.