Research at NJAES
This guide aims to help researchers at various off-campus SEBS/NJAES locations with their daily library research.
Bibliotherapy - Reading for Wellness
The hectic life of researchers often calls for activities that promote wellness. We advocate for guided reading, also called bibliotherapy.
- What is Bibliotherapy?A blog post explaining bibliotherapy and the benefits of reading for wellness. From Books We Read.
- Guide to BibliotherapyFind diverse texts to read with tips how to reflect on them. Comes with a brief description and why to read it. Features links to full text and more, such as talking points, author’s background and other works.
Recreational Reading
Rutgers University Libraries have a lot to offer! In addition to scholarly books and journal articles, we also provide books to read just for fun. A small RecReational Reading Collection features print titles, but many books are available online.
- Recreational Reading GuideThis guide features the Recreational Reading Collection, which offers about 500 titles for pleasure reading to current Rutgers affiliates. Physically located in the Carr Library, these books are available for delivery. Also includes tips how to find books for pleasure reading in other libraries and beyond.
Books We Read
Now in its sixth year, the Books We Read project, a collaboration between the Chang Science Library on the Cook Campus and SEBS/NJAES, focuses on highlighting a variety of books from the RUL Collection as well as tips how to find reading or audiovisual material for fun.
- Books We Read HomepageBooks We Read aims to connect readers with the right book at the right time. We believe in the healing power of guided reading, also called bibliotherapy, through reading, discussing, and relating to texts relevant to the reader in a difficult phase of their lives.
- Books We Read BlogNearly 350 posts with book recommendations written by librarians and library graduate assistants highlight RUL books and related resources.
- Books We Read LibGuideWith its detailed recommendations, this guide will help you find reading material for fun in the collection hosted by Rutgers University Libraries, based on suggestions of students, faculty, and staff on the Cook Campus.
- How to Find eBooks at Rutgers and Beyond - from Books We ReadLists to resources available on the Internet and Rutgers University Libraries via QuickSearch and other less easily discoverable sources, including databases.
- Streaming Video at Rutgers - from Books We ReadIn addition to traditional content like books and journal articles, RUL also provide visual media. This page describes RU-restricted databases that offer movies and the steps how to find videos in our collection.
- Archival Resources - from Books We ReadA unique and valuable resource for students and the community at Rutgers, Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) provides online access to New Jersey newspapers, Rutgers Oral History Archive, and many NJ-relates resources.
- SEBS Little Free Library in Foran HallSurviving the pandemic, this Take-a-book, share-a-book initiative outside Chang Library reflects the spirit on the Cook Campus. Thanks to anonymous volunteers, the SEBS Little Free Library has been offering books since February 2020. Stop by, if you are on campus, bring your books to donate and grab something new to read!