Research at NJAES
QuickSearch
Remember: Two-step Login Required
Off campus access to library resources now requires the use of Duo for two-step login. This follows the standards set for NetID-protected websites and services, The requirement went into effect on July 1, 2021.
Read more about Two-step login and how to set it up. Please contact your IT professional for help.
Yes, we still have books!
Ask Us
Ask Us
Use QuickSearch to Search Rutgers Resources
QuickSearch provides access to most of the Rutgers Libraries' physical collections and electronic resources. For complex searches, please try the Advanced Search option.
- Find Library MaterialsQuickSearch is the main resource for locating and requesting books, articles, and other library materials. It searches across the physical collections of all of our libraries (including the Law libraries in Newark and Camden) and most, though not all, of the electronic resources we can access. This page walks you through the various formats and how to find them.
- QuickSearch HelpAll you need to know about QuickSearch, including searching, browsing, and finding resources.
Locate Articles
If you have full or partial bibliographic information, you can start in QuickSearch. Enter the title of the article in "quotes" to get the full-text.
No results?
- Try checking the Expand My Search box under Filter my results in the left panel to search beyond what Rutgers has available. If you find the article, but with "No Online Access," look for the yellow highlighted section of the record and "Once you've signed in, you'll see the green Article Delivery button which will take you directly to the "Article Request" page, auto-populating the request form for you.
- Alternatively, you may want to try Google Scholar. Using the link via Rutgers Libraries will provide you with full text when it's available through Rutgers. Look for the "Get It @ R" links that accompany your search results.
- Request DigitizationMost of our physical books and journals are eligible for partial scanning within copyright fair use limits. If you need a book chapter or article from one of these print materials follow the steps on this page.
Access Journals
Prefer browsing journals? Need a special issue? Use the Journal Search to find a journal by title or ISSN.
Once you've located the record for a journal, you should be able to navigate to the journal so that you can browse full issues or search for individual articles. Most journal sites include a search function that will allow you to find articles specific to that journal.
Search Databases
If you're not finding what you need in QuickSearch, or are looking for a more focused resource, you may want to try some subject-specific Databases. There are hundreds of databases accessible by title or subject available from Rutgers Libraries.
To find a specific database, view our complete list of databases. This list also includes select, high-quality open access resources.
Access eBooks
Start with QuickSearch on the Rutgers University Libraries home page.
- Enter your search term(s), you will get a list of results.
- Use the left panel to narrow down to eBook.
- Under ‘Resource Types” select Book.
- Under “Limit to” select Available Online.
- Select any title from the results list to view the complete details, including the link for online access.
- How to find ebooksTips from the Books We Read group on how to find electronic books, including advanced database options.
- The latest ebooksBrowse titles recently added to the collection.
Read Newspapers
- Newspapers at RutgersA page created to help readers to access popular newspaper content.
- New York TimesRutgers University Libraries’ subscription to The New York Times allows all Rutgers affiliates to create free NYTimes.com personal accounts, which provide full access to NYTimes.com and The New York Times app.
- Wall Street JournalLog in with your Rutgers account and then create a Wall Street Journal personal account in order to access the digital edition of the Wall Street Journal. You will then be able to use the Connect button at the page linked here to access the Wall Street Journal.
- Related Guide: NewspapersA collection of news resources, including databases, historical collections, local, national, and international newspapers.