Skip to main content

Newspapers: New Jersey

New Jersey

New Jersey and other newspapers in Rutgers collections may be found by searching the Library Catalog under the title of the newspaper.

The basic directory of New Jersey newspapers is the Directory of New Jersey Newspapers, 1765-1970, edited by William C. Wright and Paul A. Stellhorn (Trenton, NJ: New Jersey Historical Commission, 1977). Available? (ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLSS, CARR, SPCOL/UA REF Z 6952 .N54 D57)

Many New Jersey newspapers are also held at Special Collections and University Archives; consult their finding aids on-site to locate specific titles and holdings.

Full-text access to the Newark Star-Ledger is available from 1996 to the present on Access World News (Rutgers-restricted Access) and on Factiva (Rutgers-restricted Access). The Dana Library in Rutgers-Newark has the Newark Star-Ledger on microfilm going back to 1980; microfilm reels back to August 1, 1945 are also available from the Alexander Library in Rutgers-New Brunswick.

While there is no complete printed or online index to the pre-1989 Star-Ledger, the New Jersey Information Center at the Newark Public Library has the card file Cummings Index to the Star-Ledger from 1971 to 1996, as well as locally compiled Newark News Indexes, 1916-1970. NPL's New Jersey Newspaper & Periodical Index currently includes the Cummings Index to the Star-Ledger from 1971 to about mid-1979, and will eventually include an index to the Newark Evening News Morgue. The Morgue clippings file, arranged by subject, is available on microfilm in the New Jersey Information Center. The Dana Library has the microfilm of the Newark portion of the Newark News clipping file in the NEWARK collection. (Those files which were labeled "Newark- ".)

NPL's New Jersey Information Center also maintains an Inventory of New Jersey Newspapers on Microfilm.

Today's issue, and selected South Jersey stories from the last fourteen days, of the Camden Courier-Post are available online for browsing; they, and earlier (approximately two years) stories can also be searched at the CourierPostOnline Search Engine. The Robeson Library in Rutgers-Camden has the Courier-Post (various titles) on microfilm back to 1909; the Camden County Historical Society has the Courier-Post from 1892 to 1959 on microfilm.

Selected articles from the Courier-Post about the city of Camden are also indexed in CamdenBase.

See the box below for a number of historical titles (1820s-2011) that have been digitized.

Other significant New Jersey papers are available as follows:

Asbury Park Press
January 1, 2000- . $2.95 per article.
Home News Tribune (New Brunswick)
January 1, 1999- . $3.95 per article.
The Record (Bergen)
1993- . $2.95 per article.
[Full-text also available back to 1985 via Access World News (Rutgers-restricted Access)]
The Times (Trenton)
1993- . $2.95 per article.
[Full-text also available back to 3/16/1993 via Access World News (Rutgers-restricted Access)]
Access World News (Rutgers-restricted Access)
Search the full-text of about two dozen New Jersey daily and weekly newspapers.
Factiva (Rutgers-restricted Access)
You can search for the full text of articles in the following New Jersey business papers:
  • Mercer Business. 4/1985-
  • New Jersey Business. 12/1990-
  • NJBiz. 9/1995-

Digitized and (mostly) Searchable

Atlantic County Digitized Newspapers
Among others, includes South Jersey Republican 1863-1923; the Mays Landing Record 1877-1906; the Atlantic County Record 1908-1917; and the South Jersey Star 1917-1923

The Bayonne Herald. 1869-1915. [Hudson County].

[Bayshore] Independent
March 1972 to March 2000. [Monmouth County]

Camden Democrat. 1859-1908. [Camden County]

Cranbury Press 1886-1926 [Middlesex County]

Cranford Chronicle 1894-2005 [Union County]

Daily True American. Trenton, 1880-1908. Trenton True American. 1908-1912. Evening True American. 1912-1913. [Mercer County].

Elizabeth Daily Journal
1872-1915. [Union County]

Franklin Township Newspaper Archives. Includes The Record [1948-1958]; the Franklin News [1954-1958]; and the Franklin News-Record[1958-1978] [Somerset County]

Matawan Journal 1870-1973; and the Matawan Independent 1972-2000 [Monmouth County]

The The Millburn Township Historical Archives include The Budget [1886]; The Short-Hills News Item [1889-1891]; and The Item of Millburn and Short Hills [1889-1891, 1935-1939, and 1941-1950]. [Essex County]

New Jersey Courier
December 1852-December 1922. [Ocean County]

Newspaper Archives of New Brunswick
New Brunswick Daily Times 1871-1916; and the Daily Home News 1887, 1889, 1903-1906 [scattered issues]. [Middlesex County]

Newark Sunday Call. June 1881 to July 1883.
[Essex County]

Ocean City Public Library Newspaper Archives. April 1893 to August 1993, includes issues from the: Cape May County Gazette, Daily Reporter, Ocean City Sentinel, The Daily Sentinel, News, et al, Ocean City Daily Reporter, Ocean City Ledger, Ocean City Sentinel Ledger. One issue a month digitized. The Sentinel Ledger is available September 1993-February 1998; Ocean City Sentinel March 1998-December 2011. [Due to copyright restrictions, these are no longer available remotely and can only be accessed within the Ocean City Free Public Library.]

Historical Society of Ocean Grove newspaper collection
Ocean Grove Times, 1875-1974, plus selected issues of the Asbury Park Press and Asbury Park Journal late 1800s and early 1900s.

Red Bank Register Archive
The Red Bank Register, 1878-1964, and the Daily Register, 1964-1991. [Monmouth County]

The Rockaway Township Library has digitized The Iron Era [Dover, Morris County] from 1872 to 1905, and The Rockaway Record [Rockaway, Morris County] from 1900 (scattered issues back to 1890) to 1936.

Scotch-Plains-Fanwood Times (weekly) 1959-2008; and the Union County Local Source [weekly] 2008-present.

South Amboy Citizen
July 2, 1910 through December 29, 2000. [Middlesex County]

Tuckerton Beacon.
Only 1917 to 1922 available for remote use; online access to 1917 to 1987 available at all Ocean County library locations. [Ocean County]

Westfield Historical Newspapers
Includes among others, Westfield Leader 1907-2015; Westfield Record Press 1990-2007; and the Union County Standard 1891-1915. Four or Five issues per month digitized. [Union County]

Woodbridge Township Historic Newspapers
Among others, includes Carteret Press 1925-1965; Fords Beacon 1936-1961; Independent Leader 1940-1965; Woodbridge Independent 1919-1938; and the Woodbridge Leader 1926-1939. [Middlesex County]

Business Librarian

Ka-Neng Au's picture
Ka-Neng Au
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library
185 University Ave
Newark, NJ 07102
au@rutgers.edu
Website / Blog Page