Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Seminar: Sex

This research guide lists resources relevant for the students in the History Seminar: Sex. Professor Chie Ikeya. Fall 2022

A frieze depicting dancing figures of men and women. Process Print. 1921. Wellcome Collection.

QuickSearch

QuickSearch

Submit Search

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Oxford English Dictionary presents different definitions and usages of a word, including sex and usage at different times in history. The last online update  of the OED content is dated September 2022.

Routledge International Handbook  of Heterosexualities Studies provides an "introduction to Critical Heterosexualities Studies through important theoretical statements, key historical studies, and current empirical research."

Encyclopedia of Sexuality and Gender covers content on sexual behavior, sexual orientation, relationships & reproduction, and sexuality & gender and much more.

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay Bisexual and Transgender History in America presents lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others.

Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work [print]  Call #: Douglass HQ115.E53 2006

 

Suggested Search Terms

Here are some examples of keywords for searching. Use quotes to keep the phrase intact.

-Use AND (in caps) to link concepts

-Use OR (in caps) to expand concepts.

-Use * to keep the ending of words open. Ex. Sex* would perform searches for sexual, sexuality, sexed, etc.

"Sex custom*" AND [Country name. Ex. India]

Sexual* AND [country name]

sex* AND LBGT*

pornograph* AND history AND [country name. Ex. Japan]

"comfort women" AND history

sex* AND [country name] AND history

traffick* AND pornogr*

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.