Marriage Manuals & Advice
Everyday Life of Women in America is a collection of digitized primary sources that illuminate the daily lives of women in the United States in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Conduct of life manuals and domestic management literature are major highlights of the collection. The collection includes monographs, pamphlets, periodicals, and broadsides. Search for "marriage manual," "fornication," "adultery."
- Lucifer, the Light Bearer, 1897-1903 (online) was established by Moses Harman, a supporter of equal rights. Harman is considered the founder of the Eugenics movement. His daughter Lilian Harman joined him as an editor of the newspaper. The journal's succeeding title is the American Journal of Eugenics partially available in HathiTrust.
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (1543-1945) is the digitized version of the physical materials in the Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs [microform]. It includes materials documenting feminist thought and women’s rights movements around the world. The collection also includes accounts of the condition of women through the centuries. Search for "sex* AND practice or advice
The Vogue Archive (1892- 1 month ago) contains every issue of the American magazine Vogue published, including all covers, articles, illustrations, advertisements, fold-outs, and anything else that appeared in the original edition.
- Search for "advice column." Check out the article "People Are Talking About: The New Morals: Ann Landers Tells How We Have Changed"
- Search for "sex"" AND advice, "sex advice." Check out the article "Health: New Idea About Drinking/Old Test for Rape Revised..."
- Search for "sexual revolution"
The Adult: The Journal of Sex, 1897-1891 (microfiche at Douglass) The editor in chief George Bedborough was a supporter of eugenics and free love.
Catholic Marriage Manual (1958) by Reverend George A. Kelly. Call # CAMDEN HQ734.K37
A Marriage Manual: A Practical Guide-Book to Sex and Marriage (1939) by Hannah M. Stone, M.D. & Abraham Stone, M.D. Call # LSM21.S68 1937
Teaching America about Sex: Marriage Guides and Sex Manuals from the late Victorians to Dr. Ruth (1999) by Michael E. Melody & Linda M. Paterson. ALEX HQ56.M365 1999
LGBTQIA+ Intimacies
Routledge International Handbook of Heterosexualities Studies by Call Number: RUonlineISBN: 9781138340305Publication Date: 2019
Trans Studies: The Challenge to Hetero/Homo Normativities by Call Number: RUonlineISBN: 9780813576404Publication Date: 2016
The shape of sex : nonbinary gender from genesis to the renaissance by Call Number: RUonlineISBN: 0231551363Publication Date: 2021
Adultery and Prostitution
The Flash Press: Sporting Male Weeklies in 1840s New York by Call Number: Dana PN4899.N41C64 2008ISBN: 9780226112336
