Special Collections and University Archives: Popular Culture

The Helen-Chantal Pike Collection on Asbury Park, New Jersey, consists of materials about or created in Asbury Park and surrounding Monmouth County towns including Ocean Grove and Eatontown. The collection has been arranged based on Pike’s own organization of the materials, which span the early 1850s to the mid-2000s.

Maps in the repository's collection depict all areas of the world through about 1920 and New Jersey throughout its history. Approximately 8,000 items, both printed and manuscript, comprise the collection. Among the highlights are a copy of the "Admiral's Map," which includes an early representation of the New World, and several dozen 19th-century wall maps of New Jersey cities and counties.

The collection includes a significant body of postcards highlighting New Jersey’s rich history. Produced in and around New Jersey, these postcards feature famous landmarks, cityscapes, and popular vacation destinations.

Haunton’s collection emphasizes New Jersey short-line and industrial railroads, although larger railroad companies, trolley lines, and tourist trains are also featured, as are a number of out-of-state railroads. Forty photograph albums comprise the bulk of the collection. They contain images depicting over 175 railroads in more than 3,500 black-and-white photographic prints and over 3,000 color prints. Also present are several dozen loose photographic prints and many hundreds of photographic negatives, together with printed ephemera, correspondence, and notes.

The William F. Augustine Photograph Collection consists of New Jersey images from the 1920s to the 1970s, focusing on southern New Jersey.

Collected materials relating to the economic, social, political, and cultural development of South River, New Jersey, from the 1890s to the early 1980s. Although primarily composed of press clippings, historical notes, and photographs, the collection also includes correspondence, reports, certificates, deeds, church records, publications, maps, and ephemera. The materials pertain to schools, churches, businesses, local politics, community leaders, and various local organizations and institutions.

Primarily images of New Brunswick, N.J., from the 1890s to the 1940s.

Photographic prints and negatives depicting Manville, Somerset County, New Jersey, including buildings, people, and events, with special emphasis on the Johns-Manville Corporation. Most of the images were exposed by Ranauro, but some are copies of earlier photographs taken by others. A few views of Somerville, Somerset County, are also included.

Mss. of writings, pamphlets, trade catalogs, serials, and other papers, relating to Trenton, N.J.