Special Collections and University Archives: Popular Culture

Broadsides, dating from 1590 to the present, number approximately 23,000 items, including interfiled posters. Categories include New Jersey, New Jersey political, New Brunswick, United States (excluding New Jersey), and foreign. Within each category, the broadsides are arranged chronologically in two sequences: oversize and non-oversize. Ballads, political controversies, estate sales, patriotic celebrations, and theatrical performances are among the myriad subjects represented.

The New Jersey Ephemera Collection consists of miscellaneous printed materials and contains close to 40,000 items. Items are arranged by type.

The New Jersey Regional Zine Collection is composed of various zines, buttons, and stickers made by New Jerseyans and individuals in the tristate area from 2011 to the present. The collection attempts to document the resurgence and content of alternative media in Do-It-Yourself communities, minority communities, artistic communities, and feminist communities.

The Rutgers University Libraries collection of New Jersey trade and manufacturers catalogs reflects an effort "to collect, preserve and make available for research, primary and secondary materials in various formats, documenting all aspects of New Jersey's history, from its founding to the present."

The New Brunswick File is a classed arrangement of newspaper clippings, pamphlets, photographs, manuscripts, etc., relating to numerous aspects of New Brunswick history. The file was begun about 1935 and is no longer augmented. There are roughly 225 classifications, totaling some 7,500 items.

Founded in part to document and combat gender-based discrimination in the field of publishing, Sisters in Crime has worked at the national and regional levels since 1987 to support and advance the interests of women authors of detective, crime, and mystery fiction. The records include by-laws, minutes, annual financial reports, publications, publicity and press coverage, photographs, videotape recordings, memorabilia, and records of several presidents, which sometimes also include records from terms of service in other Sisters in Crime offices.