Research Guides: Special Collections and University Archives: Popular Culture : Almanacs

Almanac Collections

Our two almanac collections are gradually being added to the online library catalog. Almanacs that were part of the holdings in 1962 are listed in Milton Drake's Almanacs of the United States (library symbol NjR).

Collection #1776, 1663-1948: access through the card catalog in the reading room by title, printer, date, and geographical area.
Collection #7510, 1671-1956: access through a finding aid in the reading room

Almanacs in Book Collections

Early Miniature Books Collection
The Early Miniature Books Collection consists of over 90 volumes ranging from 1727 through about 1925. Topics range from classic literature to cookery, and from almanacs to religious and spiritual guides. The collection includes a London Almanack for 1785 and 1790.
Miniature Fine Press and Artists' Books Collection
This collection consists of more than 980 miniature books issued by private presses or made by artists. Most are less than three inches in any dimension, which is the standard measure used in the United States to define a book as miniature. These books are characterized by handmade paper and illustration, letterpress printing, fine binding, and other examples of craftsmanship. The collection primarily consists of books created or published in the United States from 1940 through 2000, although there is also a significant sample of international presses. Several almanacs can be found within the collection.