Special Collections and University Archives: Popular Culture

The Garson Menu Collection contains menus collected by Otto A. Garson from restaurants, hotels, clubs, trains, and other locations throughout the United States and Europe. The collection features standard breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus as well as menus for a wide variety of special occasions, including inaugurations, honorary events, and anniversaries.

The New Jersey Beer Collection documents the beer industry in New Jersey. The collection mainly focuses on the growing craft beer movement throughout the state of New Jersey in the 2010s. The collection contains stickers, coasters, tap handles, diagrams of the brewing process, and other promotional materials.

The New Jersey Collection includes a significant body of New Jersey cookbooks written and compiled by various local and regional groups active throughout the state during the 20th century, with post-World War II publications constituting its most active area of development.

The collection includes menus from a variety of New Jersey restaurants, hotels, and banquet dinners. Many menus date from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, while other portions of the collection date from the 1980s to the present.

Papers relating to New Brunswick Farmers' Market, Inc., including correspondence (1941-1953), memorandum book of business activities (1936-1945), accounts, balance sheets, and treasurer's reports (1940-1953), other reports and memoranda (1939-1947), list of stockholders and patrons (1936), bylaws, map of property of the market (1936), and address by Paffendorf, "The Farmers' Stake in Chain Stores" (1938).