Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following reference works/encyclopedias are available online with a Rutgers login.
Approved Lists of Bacterial Names (Amended) by
Publication Date: 1989
The Approved Lists of Bacterial Names was published in the International Journal of Systematic Bacteriology (IJSB 30: 225–420, 1980) and reprinted in book form to provide for the requirements of the Bacteriological Code (1976 Revision) in initiating a new starting date for bacterial nomenclature, 1 January 1980. Despite every care, errors in the text have been detected and these errors have now been corrected in this Amended Edition.
eLS (Encyclopedia of Life Sciences)
eLS (formerly known as the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences) is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leaders in the field. It offers comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the life sciences for students, lecturers and researchers alike.
The Prokaryotes by
Publication Date: 2013-02-05
The Prokaryotes is a comprehensive, multi-authored, peer reviewed reference work on Bacteria and Archaea. This fourth edition of The Prokaryotes is organized to cover all taxonomic diversity, using the family level to delineate chapters. Different from other resources, this new Springer product includes not only taxonomy, but also prokaryotic biology and technology of taxa in a broad context. Technological aspects highlight the usefulness of prokaryotes in processes and products, including biocontrol agents and as genetics tools. The content of the expanded fourth edition is divided into two parts: Part 1 contains review chapters dealing with the most important general concepts in molecular, applied and general prokaryote biology; Part 2 describes the known properties of specific taxonomic groups.
World of Microbiology and Immunology by
Publication Date: 2002-11-05
This title in the popular "World of...Series is a comprehensive, subject-specific, two-volume encyclopedic guide that covers the concepts, theories, discoveries and pioneers in microbiology and immunology for students, researchers, teachers and librarians. Included are 650 alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced topical and biographical entries.
The following reference works/encyclopedias are located in print at various libraries throughout the three Rutgers University campuses (Camden, Newark, New Brunswick).
To request that one of these books be sent to the library nearest you, click on the book's title below. This link will direct you to the library catalog. Sign in using your NetID in the yellow banner under "Find In Library," then select the "Request Pickup" button.
If the "Request Pickup" button does not appear, this text can only be viewed at the library/libraries listed.
Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology by
Publication Date: 1993-10-09
Based on the data contained in the four-volume Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, BMDB-9 also includes new genera and species, new combinations, and new taxa published through the January 1992 issue of the IJSB. Users will find short general descriptions that encompass all organisms by Groups; shape and size, Gram reaction, other pertinent morphological features, motility and flagella, relations to oxygen, basic type of metabolism, carbon and energy sources, habitat and ecology. BMDB-9 also includes discussions of difficulties in identification, keys or tables to genera and species, genus descriptions, synonyms, other nomenclatural changes, and numerous illustrations.
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology by
Publication Date: 2001-2012
One of the most authoritative works in bacterial taxonomy, this resource has been extensively revised. This five volume second edition has been reorganized along phylogenetic lines to reflect the current state of prokaryotic taxonomy. In addition to the detailed treatments provided for all of the validly named and well-known species of prokaryotes, this edition includes new ecological information and more extensive introductory chapters.
The Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases by
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
In the past 25 years, more than 30 new human germs have emerged onto the medical scene, most of these rising from animals. And with these germs come new diseases like the avian flu, Ebola, SARS, and weaponized viruses such as anthrax and smallpox, which pose a growing threat to the world. With the rising number of deaths due to infectious diseases, it is essential to have clear and concise information on this topic. With more than 600 entries, "The Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases, Third Edition" provides up-to-date information on this expanding field, including the latest research, new treatments and vaccines, and rising diseases such as mad cow disease. Appendixes include drugs used to treat infectious diseases, tips for home disinfection, and lists of helpful organizations and publications, making this the ultimate resource for knowledge about infectious diseases.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
In more than 200 entries, Encyclopedia of Microbiology presents the myriad ways in which microorganisms influence the biosphere. Focusing on how all microorganisms relate to each other just as all higher organisms relate to all other animate and inanimate objects on Earth, this new resource explores all aspects of microbiology from mycology (the study of fungi) to the simplest biological entities of all, viruses, to prions, which are even more streamlined than viruses and just as dangerous. Biographical sections in many entries highlight the scientists who most influenced developments or discoveries in microbiology, including Louis Pasteur. Entries cover new techniques in microscopy, genetic engineering, gene therapy, and nanotechnology. A full-color insert, helpful appendixes, cross-references, and further resources round out this invaluable resource.