Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
QuickSearch can be used to locate a variety of resources from the Rutgers University Libraries, including all books in the Rutgers catalog.
To specifically search for books, conduct a search term and locate the "Filter my results" sidebar on the left hand side of the results page. Then, select "Books" under "Resource Type" to limit your search solely to books.
For additional help or information, please visit the QuickSearch Help page.
Developments in Fungal Biology and Applied Mycology by
Publication Date: 2018-01-25
This book explores the developments in important aspects of fungi related to the environment, industrial mycology, microbiology, biotechnology, and agriculture. It discusses at length both basic and applied aspects of fungi and provides up-to-date laboratory-based data. Of the estimated three million species of fungi on Earth, according to Hawksworth and coworkers, more than 100,000 have been described to date. Many fungi produce toxins, organic acids, antibiotics and other secondary metabolites, and are sources of useful biocatalysts such as cellulases, xylanases, proteases and pectinases, to mention a few. They can also cause diseases in animals as well as plants and many are able to break down complex organic molecules such as lignin and pollutants like xenobiotics, petroleum and polycyclic aromatic compounds. Current research on mushrooms focuses on their hypoglycemic, anti-cancer, anti-pathogenic and immunity-enhancing activities. This ready-reference resource on various aspects of fungi is intended for graduate and post-graduate students as well as researchers in life sciences, microbiology, botany, environmental sciences and biotechnology.
Environmental Microbiology and Microbial Ecology by
Publication Date: 2019-03-26
An authoritative overview of the ecological activities of microbes in the biosphere. Environmental Microbiology and Microbial Ecology presents a broad overview of microbial activity and microbes' interactions with their environments and communities. Adopting an integrative approach, this text covers both conventional ecological issues as well as cross-disciplinary investigations that combine facets of microbiology, ecology, environmental science and engineering, molecular biology, and biochemistry. Focusing primarily on single-cell forms of prokaryotes -- and cellular forms of algae, fungi, and protozoans -- this book enables readers to gain insight into the fundamental methodologies for the characterization of microorganisms in the biosphere. The authors draw from decades of experience to examine the environmental processes mediated by microorganisms and explore the interactions between microorganisms and higher life forms. Highly relevant to modern readers, this book examines topics including the ecology of microorganisms in engineered environments, microbial phylogeny and interactions, microbial processes in relation to environmental pollution, and many more.
Global Virology III: Virology in the 21st Century by
Publication Date: 2019-12-06
Global Virology, Volume III: Virology in the 21st Century examines work that has been undertaken, or is planned, in several fields of virology, in an effort to promote current and future work, research, and health. Fields and methods addressed include virology, immunology, space research, astrovirology/astrobiology, plasmids, swarm intelligence, bioinformatics, data-mining, machine learning, neural networks, critical equations, and advances in biohazard biocontainment. Novel and forward-looking methods, techniques, and approaches in research and development are presented by experts in the field.
Medical Microbiology by
Publication Date: 2015-10-28
Turn to Medical Microbiology, 8th Edition for a thorough, clinically relevant understanding of microbes and their diseases. This succinct, easy-to-use text presents the fundamentals of microbiology and immunology in a clearly written, engaging manner-effectively preparing you for your courses, exams, and beyond.
AccessMedicine is an online collection of key medical reference texts that provide authoritative and current medical data. Medical news, updates, patient education information, a diagnostic tool, and an integrated drug database with information about dosages, trade names, and pricing are also part of this resource.
Bookshelf, from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
HathiTrust Digital Library
The HathiTrust Digital Library includes millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Created by a partnership of academic and research institutions, the Library offers materials digitized from collections in libraries around the world and including a wide range of languages. Titles published prior to 1923 and those that are open access or Creative Commons-licensed are available full-text. Other materials include limited-access searching.
Proquest Ebook Central
Proquest Ebook Central is a subscription to over 130,000 scholarly e-books from various publishers across all academic disciplines.
SpringerLink is a full-text journal and e-book package covering thousands of scholarly titles in the following fields: architecture and design, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, psychology/behavioral science, social sciences and law, mathematics and statistics, medicine, and physics and astronomy.
To search for specific journal titles, visit the electronic journal search page. The search results will provide links to electronic journals and call numbers for physical journals.
You can also search for journals through PubMed Central® (PMC), a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) of the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Open Access Journals
An open-access journal that publishes important new ideas on bacteria, fungi, parasites, prions, and viruses that contribute to our understanding of the biology of pathogens and pathogen-host interactions.
Virology Journal is an open access, peer reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of virology, including research on the viruses of animals, plants and microbes. The journal welcomes basic research as well as pre-clinical and clinical studies of novel diagnostic tools, vaccines and anti-viral therapies.