Microbiology

Resources for study and research in Microbiology

Find Articles

This page highlights useful databases containing articles relevant to microbiology. If Rutgers has online access to relevant citations, you will be able to click and link directly to the online article.

If an article you're interested in is not available electronically through Rutgers University Libraries, you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services (ILLiad).

Databases

Algology, Mycology, and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C)
This database is appropriate for any researcher working with algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens. The scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection and immunity in man, other animals and plants.
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
This database provides research articles on biotechnology (medical, agricultural, and environmental) and bioengineering. Subject coverage includes: genetic engineering and gene therapy; medical technology; imaging pharmaceuticals, drug delivery, and vaccines; tissue engineering, biomechanics, and biomaterials; cell culture, fermentation and process engineering; waste treatment and bioremediation; methodology; agricultural biotechnology; food biotechnology; bioinformatics and computer applications; biosensors; and products produced by biotechnological methods.
BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews database is a comprehensive index to life science and biomedical research.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts
Encompassing a wide range of disciplines, Biotechnology Research Abstracts provides access to international research on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science.
CAB Abstracts
CAB Abstracts is a comprehensive database in the applied life sciences, covering the significant research and development literature in agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food, and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.
Industrial and Applied Microbiology (Microbiology A)
Provides coverage on agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries. Major areas of coverage include: Fermentation, Microbial Degradation, Food Microbiology, Microbial Toxins, Plant Diseases, Post-Harvest Decay, Plant Protection, Forestry, Soil Microorganisms, Mineral Microbiology, Protection of Materials, Hydrocarbons, Microbial Resistance and Antimicrobial Agents.
MEDLINE (via OVID)
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE is the primary source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature including medicine, nursing, dentistry and allied health.
ProQuest Biological Science Collection
The collection contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
PubMed
PubMed is available via the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Entrez life sciences retrieval system, developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the U.S. National Institutues of Health (NIH). PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE and additional citations.
SciFinder
SciFinder is the electronic version of the print publication "Chemical Abstracts". SciFinder comprehensively covers the world-wide literature of chemistry including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports, government documents, etc. It allows users to search by research topic, author name, CA abstract number, patent number, chemical structure, molecular formula, chemical name, CAS registry number, functional groups in reactions, and bibliographic information, etc.
Scopus
Scopus is a citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals. It contains over 50 million records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage strongest in the physical sciences (7,200+ titles) and health sciences (6,800+ titles), followed by the life sciences (4,300+ titles), and finally the social sciences & humanities (5,300+ titles). Patents in Scopus come from five patent offices: US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.
Virology and AIDS Abstracts
Provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants, with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS.
Web Of Science
Web of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches across a wide range of scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, conference papers, and technical reports. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, university repositories, and other scholarly websites.

To access full text available through the Rutgers Libraries, perform your search in the box above and then click the "Get it @ R" icon next to any result that interests you.

To configure Google Scholar to always display "Get it @ R" links to full text, customize your library links settings.