International and Foreign Governments

Library research guide with starting points for research on foreign governments and international organizations.

Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs) and Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)

Archive of European Integration AEI An electronic repository and archive for independently-produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents on the topic of European integration and unification.
EUROPA: Official European Union Website Basic information about the European Union with links to more detailed information, including history and member states.
European Union Comprehensive links to EU web sites. Also includes Documents and an extensive collection of related links. From the UC Berkeley Library.
HathiTrust Digital Library A collaborative repository of millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Titles published prior to 1923 and those that are open access or Creative Commons-licensed are available full-text. Other materials include limited-access searching. -- Access to the resource is unrestricted, but Rutgers affiliates can log in to gain access to additional features such as full-text download and the ability to create permanent collections.
IMF eLIbrary Provides direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, as well as data and statistical tools. Areas covered include macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
League of Nations Publications An extensive collection of documents from the League of Nations, the forerunner to the United Nations.
League of Nations Research Guide Information from the League of Nations Archive including links to Digitized Materials.
North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO) This official homepage is searchable and includes information on NATO structure, members, and partners; also contains an archive of official documents and both general and specific NATO publications.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Information about the Organisation, its activities, publications, statistics, and more.
Organization of American States (OAS) Information about the Organization and its members; news; full-text publications, documents, and reports; and other resources.
OECD iLibrary
- Includes thematic book collections, online periodicals, reference titles, and the OECD statistical databases.
UN iLibrary Read only access to publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository The official open access repository for research outputs and knowledge products from the World Bank. Includes full-text books, reports, working papers, technical papers, serials, and other materials.

Research Guides

Foreign and International Law Guide Provides links to foreign law sites, international organizations, topical guides, and U.S. sources relating to foreign and international law. From the Cornell University Law Library.
Guide to Law Online: International Includes sections on treaties, law reviews online, the Organization of American States, the United Nations, and more. From the Library of Congress.
Guide to Researching the Council of Europe Covers the major institutions of the CoE and their documents as well as selected Council of Europe entities, conventions, and websites, sorted by subjects such as bioethics, cultural affairs, human rights, and environment.
League of Nations Research Guide Information from the League of Nations Archive including links to Digitized Materials.
United Nations and United Nations Organizations Includes general information on United Nations Research as well as a guide for Model UN research.

Data Sources

ADB Data Library From the Asian Development Bank, the site includes macro-economic and social data for developing member countries.
Data A collection of research guides for data resources and services
Eurostat Statistical reports on the member states of the European Union.
FAOSTAT Multilingual databases of statistics on agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food quality control, and related areas. From the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Formerly known as WHOSIS, this web site describes and provides access to statistical and epidemiological data from the World Health Organization (WHO). Also links to other sources of health information.
IMF eLIbrary Provides direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, as well as data and statistical tools. Areas covered include macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
Index to International Statistics (IIS) [Print resource] Print edition begins with 1983. This index covers titles from intergovernmental agencies, including annual reports, periodicals, and working papers. They are indexed by subjects, names, geographic areas, categories, issuing sources, titles, and publication numbers. Check QuickSearch by title for holdings. For older titles, check the Alexander or Library of Science and Medicine documents card catalog - international section.
International Programs - Related Sites Links to international and foreign agencies that compile statistics.
OECD Data Search, browse by topic, or browse by country to find economic and social statistics and data.
OECD iLibrary
- Includes thematic book collections, online periodicals, reference titles, and the OECD statistical databases.
OECD Stat The freely accessible version of the OECD's statistical resources. Includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
Sage Data [Rutgers Restricted]
- Easy access to data from more than 70 organizational sources with over 4.9 billion datasets. Coverage includes US Federal, US State, International, and Nonprofit organizational sources.
U.S. and World Population Clock Displays current population estimates for the United States and the world. From the U.S. Census Bureau.
UN iLibrary Read only access to publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.
United Nations Statistics Division - Partners Lists organizations that collect data in their particular area of expertise. The list is arranged in three sections: United Nations Statistics Programmes, Statistics Programmes of United Nations Specialized Agencies, and Statistics Programmes of Other Autonomous Organizations.
World Bank Open Data Data is accessible by country, indicator, or topic, or via a specific database such as World Development Indicators, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, the Poverty and Equity Database, or one of many others.
World Health Statistics Also available in print, this annual title includes vital statistics for WHO member states. Special surveys and sections were published each year. For example, infectious diseases were covered in 1981, environmental health was covered in 1985, and a global overview was published in 1986. The title has varied over the years, beginning in 1947 as the Epidemiological and Vital Statistics Report. Search QuickSearch for holdings.
WTO Data (World Trade Organization) Portal containing statistical indicators related to World Trade Organization issues. Available time series cover merchandise trade and trade in services statistics, market access indicators (bound, applied & preferential tariffs), non-tariff information as well as other indicators.