International and Foreign Governments

Library research guide with starting points for research on foreign governments and international organizations.

General and Miscellaneous

Archive of European Integration AEI An electronic repository and archive for independently-produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents on the topic of European integration and unification.
Asia-Studies Full-Text Online [Rutgers Restricted]
- Access to reports, working paper series, and journals from Asia's most prestigious research institutions, covering business, economic, government, political, and social issues related to the nations of Asia-Pacific.
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy Includes full-text digital documents from ancient times to the present that are relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. From the Yale Law School.
GATT Digital Library: 1947-1994 Provides access to full text documents and information of and about the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), an organization that promoted international commerce and the reduction of trade barriers among member states from 1947-1994. From the Stanford University Libraries and Academic Information Resources.
HathiTrust Digital Library A collaborative repository of millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Titles published prior to 1923 and those that are open access or Creative Commons-licensed are available full-text. Other materials include limited-access searching. -- Access to the resource is unrestricted, but Rutgers affiliates can log in to gain access to additional features such as full-text download and the ability to create permanent collections.
IMF eLIbrary Provides direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, as well as data and statistical tools. Areas covered include macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
OECD iLibrary
- Includes thematic book collections, online periodicals, reference titles, and the OECD statistical databases.
PAIS Index [Rutgers Restricted]
- A bibliographic database covering political, social, and public policy issues in journals, conference proceedings, government publications, and other sources in multiple languages.
Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) Centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the Americas. From Georgetown University.
UN iLibrary Read only access to publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.
World Bank Open Data Data is accessible by country, indicator, or topic, or via a specific database such as World Development Indicators, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, the Poverty and Equity Database, or one of many others.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository The official open access repository for research outputs and knowledge products from the World Bank. Includes full-text books, reports, working papers, technical papers, serials, and other materials.

Courts and Law

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy Includes full-text digital documents from ancient times to the present that are relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. From the Yale Law School.
Constitute: The World's Constitutions to Read, Search, and Compare Includes the constitution that was in force in September of 2013 for nearly every independent state in the world, with updated texts as they are amended or replaced. Searchable with advanced filtering and tools for comparing constitutions.
HeinOnline [Rutgers Restricted]
- A legal research collection that features full-text searching of international and non-US legal and criminal justice periodicals and related materials such as the Canada Supreme Court Reports, English Reports (Full Reprint, 1220-1867), a Treaties and Agreements Library, and a World Constitutions collection.
International Court of Justice Includes a list of all cases brought before the Court since 1947, with some full-text. Also includes a link to a docket of pending cases and their current status as well as a link for Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders from 1946 to the present.
Law Library Microform Consortium Digital [Rutgers Restricted]
- Includes a wide range of full-text archival material broken down into U.S. Federal (executive, legislative, and judicial branches), U.S. States, U.S. Territories, Anglo-American Collections, Foreign Jurisdictions, International Law and Organizations, and Multi-Jurisdiction Subject Collections. Online collections are incomplete but new material is added each month.
Westlaw Campus Research [Rutgers Restricted]
- Contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; in excess of 800 law reviews and journals; as well as other legal materials. Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included.

Treaties and Other Agreements

HeinOnline [Rutgers Restricted]
- A legal research collection that features full-text searching of international and non-US legal and criminal justice periodicals and related materials such as the Canada Supreme Court Reports, English Reports (Full Reprint, 1220-1867), a Treaties and Agreements Library, and a World Constitutions collection.
Regional Trade Agreements Information System Maintained by the World Trade Organization, the database includes all agreements "notified to the GATT/WTO."
U.S. Department of State - Treaty Affairs Office Includes Treaties in Force, information on pending treaties, and other resources.
United Nations Treaty Collection Includes full text treaties from the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) and the League of Nations Treaty Series, plus many other treaty resources.
World Treaty Index An electronic treaty database spanning the 20th century. Indexes and provides citations to sources for full texts of multilateral and bilateral treaties.