International and Foreign Governments

Library research guide with starting points for research on foreign governments and international organizations.

Foreign Government Internet Resources

African Studies Includes a section on Primary Sources that includes Documents Collections, Statistics and Data, and other material.
Asia-Studies Full-Text Online [Rutgers Restricted] Access to reports, working paper series, and journals from Asia's most prestigious research institutions, covering business, economic, government, political, and social issues related to the nations of Asia-Pacific.
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments A directory of government officials worldwide. Provided by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Constitute "The world's Constitutions to read, search, and compare."
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices Annual reports from 1999 to the present giving overviews of the government and economy of many countries, with detailed reviews of their records on human rights. Appendices include International Human Rights Conventions, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, UNHRC Voting records, and more. From the U.S. Department of State.
Country Studies: Area Handbook Series Searchable versions of the Handbooks published by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the Department of the Army. Most books in the series deal with a particular foreign country, describing and analyzing its political; economic; social; and national security systems and institutions; and examining the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they're shaped by cultural factors.
East Asian Studies Links to a series of research guides relating to local collections as well as other resources for East Asian Studies.
European Countries Divided into EU Member States, Candidate countries, and Other European countries, this site provides information about each country as well as links to official websites for each country.
Foreign and International Law Includes a guide to reference sources, compilations, citations guides, periodicals (indexes and databases), dictionaries, web resources, free public web sites, subscription-based services, subject-specific web sites, and country overviews. Individual guides for a selection of countries are also provided. From the Library of Congress.
Government Gazettes Online Links to gazettes published by governments worldwide, with descriptions of contents and coverage.
Government of Canada Official Web Site Includes directories; information about Canada and the Canadian Government; information on programs and services; and links to a variety of full-text publications and forms. An archive of the site is also available from Library and Archives Canada.
HathiTrust Digital Library A collaborative repository of millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Titles published prior to 1923 and those that are open access or Creative Commons-licensed are available full-text. Other materials include limited-access searching. -- Access to the resource is unrestricted, but Rutgers affiliates can log in to gain access to additional features such as full-text download and the ability to create permanent collections.
HeinOnline [Rutgers Restricted] A legal research collection that features full-text searching of international and non-US legal and criminal justice periodicals and related materials such as the Canada Supreme Court Reports, English Reports (Full Reprint, 1220-1867), a Treaties and Agreements Library, and a World Constitutions collection.
International Constitutional Law English texts of Constitutional documents and information on countries, with an index by country. The Links provide access to Constitutional Courts and other projects.
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Includes a section on Primary Sources that includes Government Documents, Statistics and Data, and other material.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets Share (formerly Background Notes) Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. From the U.S. Department of State.

Foreign Government Data Sources

ADB Data Library From the Asian Development Bank, the site includes macro-economic and social data for developing member countries.
CAMGDP A guide to gender-related data resources on the countries of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan
China Data Online [Rutgers Restricted] Provides detailed official statistics on the population and economy of China.
Data A collection of research guides for data resources and services.
INE - Instituto Nacional de Estadistica (Spain) Available in Spanish or English, this site provides an extensive collection of statistical resources, including a subject grouping of data.
International Data Economic data such as GDP and CPI with links to full-text resources. From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
International Data Base (IDB) Statistical tables and projections of demographic and socio-economic data for many countries and areas of the world. From the U.S. Census Bureau.
NationMaster Data on countries worldwide with an interface for generating maps and graphs.
Sage Data [Rutgers Restricted] Easy access to data from more than 70 organizational sources with over 4.9 billion datasets. Coverage includes US Federal, US State, International, and Nonprofit organizational sources.
Statistics Canada Includes Canadian social and economic statistics including time series, census data, and government reports that track trends in the economy, land and resources, demographics, health, government, and more.
World Bank Open Data Data is accessible by country, indicator, or topic, or via a specific database such as World Development Indicators, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, the Poverty and Equity Database, or one of many others.