Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Integrated Business Applications (22:621:543): Getting Started

This guide will lead to selected company, industry and market research resources to help compile recommendations and a final report regarding a real-life business problem or opportunity.

Getting Started

For your MBA Team Consulting project, you will need to research your client company, its industry, the competitive environment and various market trends and statistics. This guide outlines databases and other resources that will help make recommendations to your client.

 

Before you start your research, think about what keywords describe your topic. You might have to play around with search terms. Sometimes there are multiple ways to describe a subject, trend or industry. In addition, the client's product or service offerings might encompass several sectors. For example, Johnson & Johnson manufactures pharmaceutical, medical device and consumer health products. 

Related Research Guides

Related Library Guides to assist in your research include:

  • Quick Guide to Business Databases - a good starting point including a comprehensive chart listing the various business databases and subject coverage
  • Business Research Guide  - general business-related print and electronic resources
  • Market Research -  includes many important sources of statistical data on income, consumption, and demographics to help you understand and define the market for your project's product or service
  • Indexes and Databases - listing of additional Rutgers-restricted databases

Business Librarian

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.