Integrated Business Applications (22:621:543)
This guide will lead to selected company, industry and market research resources to help compile recommendations and a final report regarding a real-life business problem or opportunity.
Market Research
The following resources are helpful for broad research across an industry or market, or for identifying competitor companies.
- IBISWorldContains market share data, top competitors, industry growth rates, outlook projections and SWOT analyses for major industry sectors, organized by NAICS code.
- MarketLineContains company, industry market analysis, and country reports and data based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
- Mergent OnlineUse Mergent Online to search by sector, NAICS or SIC code. You can also search by industry via the Industry Analysis tab to get competitive comparisons and historical data by date or region.
- Mintel ReportsProduct and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Use the search box at the top to search for consumer market information. Reports are geared toward specific market niches.
- StatistaStatista integrates statistical data on a wide variety of topics and industries from over 18,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Management Analysis
- Conference Board Research CollectionContains over 1,000 full-text management and analytical reports on topics such as business ethics, corporate governance, leadership, outsourcing, and strategic management. This collection also includes annual studies, monthly news on economic conditions, and current news releases on economic indicators.
- Sage BusinessAccess to a variety of business resources, including:
Business Cases - best practices in a variety of business disciplines
Business Foundations - an overview of major business theories and their applications
Research Methods Video: Market Research - a range of key research methods skills, techniques, and theories for carrying out effective and impactful market research
Find Articles
The following are article indexes which provide access to thousands of business publications. Finding articles about a particular company, industry, or product can provide additional context and very current information.
- Business Source PremierFind articles from a variety of scholarly, professional and trade publications by searching sector, industry or product name keyword(s), or indexed fields such as NAICS, product or subject code.
- FactivaProvides access to thousands of national and international news periodicals. Contains full text articles of the The Wall Street Journal.
Select the "Companies/Markets" tab at the top of the screen to find financial and stock data about a company.
Media Alerts
Several Rutgers databases allow the ability to set up news/media alerts, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Access World News and EBSCO (which includes Business Source Premier and Regional Business News).
See the Media Alert Instruction Sheet below for details.
- Media AlertsGuide to setting up news/media alerts.