Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Integrated Business Applications (22:621:543): Industry Research

This guide will lead to selected company, industry and market research resources to help compile recommendations and a final report regarding a real-life business problem or opportunity.

Links to related Library Guides

Rutgers Online Databases

  • IBISWorld research reports provide trends, statistics, and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates for over 1,000 industry sectors. Also includes procurement reports discussing price drivers and trends, total cost of ownership, supply market characteristics, supply chain risks and market share concentration
  • MarketLine provides original industry, company, market analysis, and country reports and data based on published research and primary and secondary data sources, including 3,500 industry profiles and market data on 150 consumer products in over 60 countries. 
  • Mergent Online contains industry sector comparisons and analysis via the Industry Analysis tab at the top. You can also search for industry reports by clicking on the Investext tab. 
  • Mintel Reports are product and industry market research reports covering both the U.S. and global markets in numerous niche areas. They contain comprehensive marketing and consumer research data, including information on trends, demographics, and the competitive landscape. 
  • Statista integrates statistical data on a wide variety of topics and industries from over 18,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Using Government Data

Done every five years by the Census Bureau, the Economic Census provides comprehensive and detailed statistics on employer businesses and serves as the benchmark for nearly every business survey conducted by the Census Bureau. It was last done in 2017 and statistics will continue to roll out throughout 2020.


Compare manufacturing data over time via the Industrial Statistics Database: INDSTAT 4. Located on the UNIDO (UN Industrial Development Organization) platform, it contains manufacturing sector data from 1990 to the present.

Supply Chain Flowcharts

Refer to this list of Flowcharts to gain an understanding of the supply chain for certain products or processes.

Industry Banner

City skyline with a person looking out at it

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.