Nutrition and Food Science Information Resources

A web site of the U. S. Food and Drug Administration that offers information on food safety, nutrition, government regulations and programs.

The reporting and documentation system for current research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Contains useful information on USDA grants.

The Dietary Guidelines for Americans is the Nation’s go-to source for nutrition advice. Published every 5 years for public health professionals, each edition of the Dietary Guidelines reflects the current body of nutrition science.

The Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity (DNPAO) supports healthy eating, active living, and obesity prevention by creating healthy child care centers, hospitals, schools, and worksites; building capacity of state health departments and national organizations; and, conducting research, surveillance and evaluation studies.

The mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making.

The Food and Nutrition Information Center - a leader in food and human nutrition information dissemination since 1971 - provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.

The Food Safety Research Information Office (FSRIO) supports the research community by collecting, organizing & disseminating food safety information in accordance with the Agricultural Research, Extension, and Education Reform Act of 1998.

CDC tracks foodborne illnesses and collaborates with state and local health departments and other federal agencies to investigate foodborne outbreaks. CDC’s work provides information to improve food safety.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

(USDA Agriculture Research Service) An excellent resource for looking up highly detailed nutritional information on various foods.

Nutrition.gov provides easy access to vetted food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.

The mission of ODS is to strengthen knowledge and understanding of dietary supplements by evaluating scientific information, stimulating and supporting research, disseminating research results, and educating the public to foster an enhanced quality of life and health for the U.S. population.

Under the Food Quality Protection Act (FQPA), EPA must ensure that all pesticides used on food in the United States meet FQPA's stringent safety standard. FQPA requires an explicit determination that a pesticide’s use on food is safe for children and includes an additional safety factor, up to tenfold if necessary, to account for uncertainty in data relative to children.

The President’s Council engages, educates, and empowers all Americans to adopt a healthy lifestyle that includes regular physical activity and good nutrition.

The Division of Food and Nutrition administers the National School Lunch Program, the School Breakfast Program, Special Milk Program, Afterschool Snack Program, Summer Food Service Program, Child and Adult Day Care Food Program, Family Day Care Program, Commodity Food Distribution Program and The Emergency Food Assistance Program.

The Food and Drug Safety Program regulates food, drug, and cosmetic safety and provides information to consumers and the regulated industry.

The Children's Nutrition Research Center is one of six USDA human nutrition research centers conducting scientific investigations designed to provide Americans with a clear understanding of the role of nutrition in maintaining a healthy, active life.

European Union site for information on agricultural policies, food safety, nutrition, and more.

United Nations agency that collects and disseminates information about food, nutrition, agriculture, forestry and fisheries.

A nonprofit organization founded in 1928, The American Institute of Food Distribution (The Food Institute) has a single purpose: providing information.

Online resources for the food and food processing industry. Includes sales and inventory management tools.

The Institute for Food Safety and Health (IFSH) at Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) is a world-class food science research institute that produces knowledge-based outcomes in the areas of food safety, food defense, and nutrition for stakeholders in government, industry, and academia.

The mission at ICN is to provide information & services that promote the continuous improvement of child nutrition programs.

The Institute of Food Research (IFR) is the only publicly funded UK research institute that focuses on the underlying science of food and health to address the global challenges of Food Security, Diet & Health, Healthy Ageing and Food Waste.

Our Mission is to promote solutions to childhood obesity, poor diet, and weight bias through research and policy.

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals...

AGFD brings together persons particularly interested in the chemistry of agricultural and food products, both raw and finished; to foster programs of general papers and symposia on special topics dealing with this field of chemistry; to promote such other activities as will stimulate activity in and emphasize the importance of research in agricultural and food chemistry.

The American Council on Science and Health is a pro-science consumer advocacy organization based in New York City.

The American Diabetes Associations leads the fight against the deadly consequences of diabetes and fights for those affected by diabetes.

Find resources for farmers and marketers, food manufacturers, food service professionals, retailers and educators.

National trade organization representing the frozen food industry and its members.

The mission of AIB is to empower the global food industry to elevate their food safety and grain based production capabilities. Staff includes experts in the fields of baking production, experimental baking, cereal science, nutrition, food safety and hygiene.

APHA is a 501(c)(3) organization with the mission to improve the health of the public and achieve equity in health status

The American Society for Nutrition (ASN) is a non-profit organization dedicated to bringing together the world's top researchers, clinical nutritionists and industry to advance our knowledge and application of nutrition for the sake of humans and animals. Our focus ranges from the most critical details of research and application to the broadest applications in society, in the U.S. and around the world.

The American Society of Baking is a professional organization comprising commercial baking professionals, food technologists, engineering, equipment, ingredient and service experts dedicated to advancing baking and baking science technology.

Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals (ANFP) is a national not-for-profit association established in 1960 that today has over 14,000 professionals dedicated to the practice of providing optimum nutritional care through foodservice management.

National association of the directors of nutrition departments and programs. The organization promotes, in cooperation with other educational institutions, government agencies, and industry, the common interests of academic units of nutrition in universities and colleges which offer or are principally responsible for the support of graduate degree programs in nutrition or the postgraduate training programs in nutrition located in the United States.

UK-based company providing the food and drink industry with the practical scientific, technical and advisory services needed to ensure product safety and quality, process efficiency and product and process innovation.

Founded in 1951, CIFST is the national association for food industry professionals. Its membership is comprised of scientists and technologists in industry, government and academia who are committed to advancing food science and technology.

The Center for Science in the Public Interest is a consumer advocacy organization whose twin missions are to conduct innovative research and advocacy programs in health and nutrition, and to provide consumers with current, useful information about their health and well-being.

Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE) works on behalf of the 15 million Americans with food allergies, including all those at risk for life-threatening anaphylaxis.

A Membership Organization Engaging the Food and Drug Law Community
FDLI offers education, training, publications, and professional engagement opportunities. As a neutral convener, FDLI provides a venue for stakeholders to inform innovative public policy, law, and regulation.

"IAFP is a member-based association of more than 4,000 food safety professionals committed to Advancing Food Safety Worldwide® by providing food safety professionals worldwide with a forum to exchange information on protecting the food supply."

The Institute of Food Science & Technology (IFST) is the leading qualifying body for food professionals in Europe and the only professional body in the UK concerned with all aspects of food science and technology.

The IFT mission is to advance the science of food and its application across the global food system.

The International Food Information Council (IFIC) Foundation is dedicated to the mission of effectively communicating science-based information on health, nutrition and food safety for the public good.

IFIS is a not-for-profit academic publishing organisation with an ongoing commitment to learning and development, and a reputation for scientific integrity, accuracy, and excellence.

The International Lactation Consultant Association® (ILCA®) is the member association for International Board Certified Lactation Consultants® (IBCLC®) and other healthcare professionals who care for breastfeeding families. ILCA membership is open to all who support and promote breastfeeding.

IUFoST organises world food congresses, among many other activities, to stimulate the ongoing exchange of knowledge in those scientific disciplines and technologies relating to the expansion, improvement, distribution and conservation of the world's food supply.

Integrating Food Science and Engineering Knowledge Into the Food Chain
IFA is an independent European non-profit organisation, whose mission is to support lifelong learning in the food sector, teachers and trainers to improve efficacy of teaching, students to gain knowledge more easily, industry staff / food professionals to make use of research results and researchers to facilitate collaboration.

A non-profit organization located in Bethesda, Maryland, LSRO utilizes the talents of many of America's best scientists to analyze fundamental problems and issues that arise in biomedicine, healthcare, nutrition, food safety and the environment.

The National Grain and Feed Association, founded in 1896, is a broad-based, non-profit trade association that represents and provides services for grain, feed and related commercial businesses.Its activities focus on enhancing the growth and economic performance of U.S. agriculture.

Provides leadership to the industry on public policy issues, serving as its voice in Washington, D.C. NPA also forges alliances with key organizations, monitors and addresses technical issues, and organizes events and seminars for the industry.

National, nonprofit professional organization representing more than 57,000 members who provide high-quality, low-cost meals to students across the country.

Dedicated to promoting effective nutrition education and healthy behavior through research, policy and practice and has a vision of healthy communities, food systems and behaviors.

Independent nonprofit coalition of more than 50 nationally influential professional, educational, and governmental organizations that share a common mission to drive collaborative efforts for policy and practices that create a landscape of breastfeeding support across the United States.

The Vegetarian Society influences, inspires and supports people to embrace and maintain a vegetarian lifestyle. We work constructively with businesses, government agencies, policy makers and professionals, whilst always remaining independent.

Founded in 1991, the American Beverage Institute (ABI) is the only organization dedicated to the protection of responsible on-premise consumption of adult beverages. ABI’s strength stems from its composition — ABI is a restaurant trade association, representing America’s favorite restaurant chains as well as hundreds of individual restaurants and on-premise retailers.

Established in 1929, ACF is the premier professional chefs’ organization in North America with more than 17,500 members in over 150 chapters nationwide.

The American Institute of Wine & Food is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization and public charity founded on the premise that gastronomy is essential to the quality of human existence.

The voice of food retail.
FMI is an international network of retailers and wholesalers working together to improve food distribution around the world.

The Green Restaurant Association, an international nonprofit organization, has pioneered the Green Restaurant® movement as the leading voice within the industry, encouraging restaurants to green their operations using transparent, science-based certification standards

IACP’s mission is to help our members get more work and do it better through networking opportunities and education in communication skills.

A trade organization whose members are in the retail ice cream and frozen dessert business.

The National Restaurant Association represents and advocates for foodservice industry interests—taking on financial and regulatory obstacles before they hit members’ bottom line. They provide tools and systems that help members of all sizes get significantly better operating results. And they offer the kinds of networking, education and research resources that are only possible because of our vast, and active, membership base.

Sets the standards and creates guidelines for the personal chef industry