Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles with QuickSearch
Many journals are available online and can be accessed through the Rutgers University Libraries website.
TIP: Under Resources in the left column, select the second item Journals to search for journals, magazines, and newspapers by title or ISBN.
Journal Citation Reports
The Journal Citation Reports helps find the most frequently cited and highest impact journals in many discipline.
Review articles summarize the work that has been done in various fields.
TIP: To find reviews, consult a Review series or search for "Reviews" in indexes and online databases.
Rutgers University Libraries Databases
Indexes and Databases help you find articles written on a subject or by a particular author and lead you to up-do-date research.
TIP: To access resources available to Rutgers users, visit Indexes and Databases and log in with your Rutgers NetID when prompted.
Agricola covers all aspects of agriculture including: agriculture, agronomy, biology, chemistry, crop management, ecology, feed science, fertilizers, food and nutrition, and more. Agricola contains citations to over 3.7 million records, both in English and non-English.
BIOSIS Previews (Web of Science)
A comprehensive index to life science and biomedical research.
CAB Abstracts, a subset of CAB Direct, is a comprehensive database in the applied life sciences, covering the significant research and development literature in agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, human health, food and nutrition, leisure and tourism, microbiology and parasitology and plant sciences.
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.
OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) online library of statistical databases, books, and periodicals. It parallels the print output of this international governmental organization (IGO) whose publications and statistical output represent the roughly 30-member nation states which share a commitment to democratic government and the market economy and which form this IGO.
A service of the US National Library of Medicine®, it provides access to MEDLINE®, the NLM® database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and pre-clinical sciences journal articles. It offers access to full-text articles on food science and nutrition.
ScienceDirect, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. More than 2,500 journals are available on ScienceDirect and Rutgers University Libraries subscribe to over 1,500 of these titles.
SciFinder Scholar contains literature of chemistry including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports and government documents etc.
Scopus, a multidisciplinary database, contains over 50 million records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage strongest in the physical sciences.
Search Google Scholar
Searching Google Scholar through Rutgers Libraries will allow you to access library subscription content. If you encounter an article to which Rutgers University Libraries does not have access, you can submit an article delivery request.
Other Useful Databases
This is a free version of AGRICOLA. the catalog of the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (the NAL Catalog). Use this database to access the NAL's collection of 3 million items, including books and journal articles, which cover all aspects of agriculture, food, food science, food chemistry and related sciences.
Dietary Supplements Labels Database (DSLD)
(National Institutes of Health; U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Within the DSLD you can search for products either in the market (DSLD On Market), off the market (DSLD Off Market), or consumed by National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey participants in the latest survey in the DSLD database (NHANES)
Dr. Duke's Phytochemical & Ethnobotanical Databases
(National Agricultural Library)
These databases contain information on the activity of chemicals in plants, and ethnobotanical uses for plants.
FAOSTAT Food and Agriculture Data
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
FooDB is the world’s largest and most comprehensive resource on food constituents, chemistry and biology. It provides information on both macronutrients and micronutrients, including many of the constituents that give foods their flavor, color, taste, texture and aroma.
USDA FoodData Central
"An integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research."
In Food Science and Technology Abstracts, it is important to use British spellings and terms, e.g. flavour instead of flavor, biscuits instead of cookies
BROADEN YOUR SEARCH
Sometimes it is better to search for broader classes of food such as baked goods for muffins, bread, cakes or dairy products for cheese, milk, etc.
SYNONYMS & WILDCARDS
Besides searching fat substitutes, try fat replacers. Also, use truncation symbols (e.g. *, $, ?, that are unique to each database). e.g. replac* searches replace, replacement, replacing, replacer, etc.