Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Civil Rights and Social Movements (21:510:489): The Civil Rights Era

Images

The Civil Rights Era in the U.S. News & World Report Photographs Collection. Selected Images from the Collections of the Library of Congress.

Civil Rights Collection. Some 27,000 mostly black and white images, the work of several photographers done largely in Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, and Georgia in the early to mid sixties. Includes a collection of photographs depicting Negative Responses to Civil Rights

Jim Peppler Southern Courier Photograph Collection. Over 6000 photographs taken for the Montgomery Alabama weekly Southern Courier between May 1965 and mid-1968, many documenting the civil rights movement.

Civil Rights

Civil Rights Digital Library
Portal to digital collections documenting the struggle for racial equality. Emphasis on materials from the 1950s and 1960s, primarily in the South.
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights - Publications by Date
The Long Civil Rights Movement: Works, Comments, and Links.
“Publishing the Long Civil Rights Movement” Project at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

Big Brother on the Watch

Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
Searchable collection of FBI files. Includes the COINTELPRO files, and files on Abbie Hoffman, the Black Panther Party, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, Kent State, Malcolm X, Mississippi burning, Muslim Mosque, Inc., the Organization of Afro-American Unity, the Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and on Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Rutgers-restricted Access
FBI Electronic Reading Room [The Vault].
Digital documents from the files of the FBI. You can use the A-Z Index, or browse through categories of documents including "Anti-War," "Civil Rights," "Political Figures and Events," and "Popular Culture."

Audio and Video

Lest We Forget
New York, Folkways Records, 1980.
Clips of songs, chants, prayers; speeches by Martin Luther King, Jr. and Ralph Albernathy; and songs recorded during "The Sing for Freedom Workshop." Recordings from 1963-64. Rutgers-restricted Access
Voices of Civil Rights.
The History Channel, 2005. Rutgers-restricted Access
Eyes on the Prize: America's Civil Rights Movement
7 DVDs. PBS Video, 2006.
Vols. 1-3 tell the story of America's civil rights years from 1954 to 1965; vols. 4-7 examine the new America from 1966 to 1985, from community power to the human alienation of urban poverty.
SNCC 50th Anniversary Conference
San Francisco, Calif., California Newsreel, 2011.
Streaming videos of the conference proceedings of veteran and youth activists gathered at Shaw University in North Carolina to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), an organization which formed the vanguard of the Civil Rights Movement. 37 videos of presentations, discussions, and concerts. Many of the programs feature SNCC veterans who provide an invaluable oral history of the Movement. Rutgers-restricted Access

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.