Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Civil Rights and Social Movements (21:510:489): Finding Archival Collections

Archival Collections at Rutgers

Special Collections and University Archives
Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives collects, preserves, and makes available primary sources of a rare, unique, or specialized nature.

The IUE Labor Archives Project
Rutgers University Special Collections and University Archives houses the collection of the International Union of Electronic, Electrical, Salaried, Machine & Furniture Workers, AFL-CIO. Containing over 1,500 cubic feet of textual records and non-textual material (audio tapes, films, photographs, and labor ephemera), the IUE archives serves as the cornerstone for the Rutgers University Libraries' labor history collections.

American Memory

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The Library of Congress site offers access to more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The collections include manuscripts, photographs, posters, maps, books, pamphlets, and sheet music, as well as sound recordings and motion pictures and can either be browsed or searched.

Archival Databases/Guides

ArchiveGrid
Index to archival collection descriptions and finding aids. Rutgers-restricted Access
The Newark Archives Project
The Newark Archives Project is creating detailed descriptions of primary materials relating to Newark that are available in repositories in Newark and elsewhere. The collections described include papers of individuals and families; records of government agencies, organizations, and businesses; photographs and film; audio collections; and more. A wonderful, and growing, resource for finding archival materials on Newark!

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.