Dental Medicine: Resources for the Rutgers School of Dental Medicine
For students and faulty and the Rutgers School of Dental Medicine
Ebooks
Endodontics by ISBN: 9780323624367Publication Date: 2020-08-19This focused and extensively revised new edition contains all the clinically-relevant information needed to incorporate endodontics into general dentistry practice. Illustrated step-by-step guidelines and vivid online videos address the ins and outs of diagnosis, treatment planning, managing pulpal and periapical diseases, and performing basic root canal treatments.
Endodontic Treatment, Retreatment, and Surgery by ISBN: 9783319194769Publication Date: 2016-09-11This book provides clear, concise guidance on a range of essential treatment strategies for the provision of reliable endodontic care. Practical clinical procedures are described step by step and key concepts emphasized with the aid of a wealth of high-quality illustrations and photograph
Guided Endodontics by ISBN: 9783030552800Publication Date: 2020-11-22This superbly llustrated book provides a comprehensive overview of guided endodontics, a technology-driven, contemporary treatment approach that represents a paradigm shift in endodontics.
Emerging Technologies in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by ISBN: 9789811986017Publication Date: 2023-07-26This book covers the application of emerging technologies, occurring after the 4th industrial revolution, in oral and maxillofacial surgery (OMFS) and introduces a new era of personalized medicine in this discipline.
The History of Maxillofacial Surgery by ISBN: 9783030895624Publication Date: 2022-03-17The multi-authored, multi-institutional, and multi-specialty-based text is designed as a valuable resource for surgeons working on the maxillofacial region.
Lasers in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by ISBN: 9783030296032Publication Date: 2020-03-26This book provides surgeons with important insights into laser technologies as well as a sound understanding of their current and potential applications within oral and maxillofacial surgery and related disciplines.
Modern Operative Dentistry Principles for Clinical PracticeISBN: 9783030317720Publication Date: 2020"This book is written in a very comprehensible style, easy to understand, it is abundantly illustrated and it is very useful for young doctors and all those who want to improve their work protocol adapted to the most modern principles and technologies."
Oral board review for oral and maxillofacial surgeryISBN: 9783030488802Publication Date: 2021This is a go-to resource for those attempting to successfully challenge the oral boards and for residents to polish up on their training.
Peterson's principles of oral and maxillofacial surgery by ISBN: 9783030919207Publication Date: 2022Offers comprehensive coverage of the contemporary specialty of oral and maxillofacial surgery; Written by approximately 100 distinguished experts; Represents an ideal reference for both clinicians and those preparing for board exams.
Transalveolar Extraction of the Mandibular Third Molars by ISBN: 9781032348315Publication Date: 2022-12-01This practical manual provides details on the clinical and radiographic evaluation, classification, principles of suturing and flaps, intricacies of the transalveolar surgery, newer advances in mandibular third molar surgery and complications that may be encountered during mandibular third molar exodontia.
3D Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in OrthodonticsISBN: 9783030572235This richly illustrated book is a wide-ranging guide to modern diagnostics and treatment planning in orthodontics, which are mandatory prior to the initiation of any type of comprehensive treatment.
An Introduction to OrthodonticsISBN: 9780192539588The new fifth edition has been completely updated to reflect contemporary practice, including a new chapter dedicated to hypodontia and orthodontics, and a new chapter on the fastest growing area in orthodontics, clear aligners. With over 700 illustrations and plenty of case studies, it is a user-friendly introduction to the subject.
Pediatric Orthodontics by ISBN: 9781681086095Publication Date: 2018-01-24The book's problem based format allows readers to test and improve their knowledge about relevant topics which include craniofacial growth, facial aesthetics, musculoskeletal structure, occlusal guidance, maxillary transverse discrepancy, dental anomalies, tooth impaction, and, class II and class III malocclusions.
McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent by ISBN: 9780323698207Publication Date: 2021-04-01Trusted for more than 50 years, McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent, 11th Edition provides the latest diagnostic and treatment recommendations for infants, children, and adolescents. It covers topics ranging from pediatric examination and radiographic techniques to development and morphology of the primary teeth, dental caries, dental materials, and local anesthesia.
Nitrous Oxide in Pediatric Dentistry : A Clinical HandbookISBN: 9783030296186Publication Date: 2020This clinical handbook is a complete guide to the use of nitrous oxide when performing dental procedures in children.
Pediatric DentistryISBN: 9783030780036Publication Date: 2022This textbook provides dental practitioners and students with all the knowledge required in order to treat optimally the oral conditions encountered in children and adolescents and to offer appropriate guidance on subsequent oral health self-care.
Traumatic Dental Injuries in Children A Clinical Guide to Management and Prevention by ISBN: 9783030257934This book is a clinical guide to the prevention and management of traumatic dental injuries, including crown and root fractures and luxation injuries, in children of all ages.
Advances in Periodontal Surgery A Clinical Guide to Techniques and Interdisciplinary ApproachesISBN: 9783030123109Publication Date: 2020This book describes practical, contemporary, and evidence-based surgical approaches for the treatment of diseases and conditions affecting the periodontium, including advanced forms of periodontal disease, gingival recession, and complex cases requiring interdisciplinary management.
Microsurgery in Periodontal and Implant Dentistry: Concepts and ApplicationsISBN: 9783030968748Publication Date: 2022This book compiles all relevant information regarding fundamental concepts and advanced techniques related to the applications of minimally invasive procedures in periodontal and implant therapy facilitated with the operating microscope.
Moderate Sedation and Emergency Medicine for PeriodontistsISBN: 9783030357504Publication Date: 2020This book is intended for periodontal residents and practicing periodontists who wish to incorporate the principles of moderate sedation into daily practice.
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology and Implantology by ISBN: 9780323878876Publication Date: 2023-03-01Unmatched for its comprehensive approach, this resource provides detailed, up-to-date information on the etiology and pathogenesis of periodontal disease.
Practical Techniques in Periodontics and Implant Dentistry by ISBN: 9781119793557Publication Date: 2023-01-12A quick reference to essential techniques in periodontics and implant dentistry designed for clinical use In Practical Techniques in Periodontics and Implant Dentistry, distinguished periodontist Dr. Edgard El Chaar delivers a comprehensive quick reference to key information on periodontics and implant dentistry.
Digital Guided Micro ProsthodonticsISBN: 9789811902567Publication Date: 2022This book focuses on the clear and simplified clinical techniques for microscopic restoration dentistry. With the help of microscope and hole reference technique (HRT), dentists can design the dimensional relationship and carry it out in preparation precisely.
Fundamentals of Fixed ProsthodonticsISBN: 9780867157574An introduction to restorative dentistry techniques using fixed partial dentures and cast metal, metal-ceramic, and all-ceramic restorations, provides the background knowledge needed by the novice and serving as a refresher for the practitioner or graduate student. Specific techniques and instruments are discussed, and updated information has been added to cover new cements, new impression materials and equipment, and changes in soft tissue management methods used during impression procedures.
McCracken's Removable Partial Prosthodontics by ISBN: 9780323339902Publication Date: 2015-12-02Using an evidence-based approach, this full-color text incorporates the latest information on new techniques, procedures, and equipment, including expanded information on dynamic communication and the use of implants with removable partial dentures...
Partial Extraction Therapy in Implant DentistryISBN: 9783030336103This book covers all clinical aspects of partial extraction therapy (PET), a revolutionary technique that offers long-term stability of soft and hard tissue around implants.
Books Recommended by the Dental Caucus of the Medical Library Association
Color Atlas and Text of Histology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Magnify your understanding of histology with Color Atlas and Text of Histology --the student's go-to tool for histology mastery! The Seventh Edition of this text and atlas combines traditional topics with modern research to provide medical, dental, allied health, and biology students with a concise review of all of the major tissue classes and body systems. Consistent presentation of histologic plates comprising relevant concise text and photomicrographs facilitates understanding as well as review both for in-class and licensing examinations. Helpful explanatory text in each chapter includes Introductions, new Histophysiology sections, Clinical Considerations, and Summaries of Histological Organization. Numerous tables have also been added to make the material easier to grasp. This atlas features more than 700 vivid, full-color and high-quality photomicrographs, scanning electron micrographs, and schematic illustrations to give students the full histologic picture. New to the seventh edition: Revised and updated text ensures that each chapter offers the most current histology and related concepts. Reorganized chapter content clearly delineates morphology and histophysiology sections. Expanded Histologic Techniques chapter elucidates various stains and techniques. Abundant tables organize related topics for quick, easy absorption and review. Clinical Considerations with clinical images demonstrate the link between histology and pathophysiology. Full-page Graphics provide a representational orientation before zooming in on micrographs. Helpful full-color thumbnail drawings complement micrographs for enhanced interpretation. New appendix helps students distinguish between tissues that resemble each other. New Review Plates at the end of each chapter. An interactive question bank of multiple-choice review questions is available for students via thePoint.
ISBN: 9781496346735Publication Date: 2017-04-07
Esthetic Dentistry by
Help your patients look better and improve their self-esteem with this complete, user-friendly guide to all of the latest esthetic dentistry procedures that are in high demand. Thoroughly updated by the most renowned leaders in the field, the new third edition of Esthetic Dentistry: A Clinical Approach to Techniques and Materials offers clearly highlighted techniques in step-by-step fashion, with unmistakable delineation of armamentarium, for the treatment of esthetic problems. Hundreds of clinical tips are included throughout the book to help alert you to potential problems, variations on techniques, and other treatment considerations. Plus, an invaluable troubleshooting guide covers the different types of esthetic problems (such as size, discoloration, and spacing issues), potential solutions, and references to chapters where the specific problem is discussed in detail. With this expert reference in hand, you will have all you need to master the latest esthetic procedures that your patients want Troubleshooting guide at the beginning of the book features tabled information containing a quick snapshot of the problem, the solution, and where in the text it can be found.Hundreds of clinical tips throughout the book alert you to potential problems, variations on techniques, and other treatment considerations. Short narratives utilize a user-friendly format that works as a dependable reference, as well as a quick, at-a-glance guide. Part 2: Principles of Esthetics provides a detailed discussion of the fundamentals of esthetics and its relevancy to dentistry. Part 3: Esthetic Materials and Techniques assists you in selecting the correct materials for a specific clinical situation. Part 4: Esthetics and Other Clinical Applications offers an overview of how esthetics relates to other clinical specialties including, periodontics, orthodontics, implants, oral surgery, pediatrics, occlusion, laser surgery, oral photography, CAD/CAM technology, dermatological pharmaceuticals, and plastic surgery.
ISBN: 0323225055Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes lifetime access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. For more than seventy-five years, Grant's Atlas of Anatomyhas maintained a tradition of excellence while continually adapting to meet the needs of each generation of students. The updated fifteenth edition is a visually stunning reference that delivers the accuracy, pedagogy, and clinical relevance expected of this classic atlas, with new and enhanced features that make it even more practical and user-friendly. Illustrations drawn from real specimens, presented in surface-to-deep dissection sequence, set Grant's Atlas of Anatomy apart as the most accurate reference available for learning human anatomy. These realistic representations bring structures to life and provide students with the ultimate lab resource. NEW Illustration overviews highlight the autonomic nerves to clarify nerve and muscle innervations. NEW and updated images reflect the latest clinical insights through: 15 NEW Illustrations 160 revised figures NEW and updated surface anatomy images NEW pulses photos Renowned, high-resolution, dynamically colored illustrations organized in dissection sequence enable the formation of 3-D constructs for each body region and provide detailed, realistic reference during dissection. Tables detail muscles, vessels, and other anatomic information in an easy-to-use format ideal for review and study. Enhanced medical imaging includes more than 100 clinically significant MRIs, CT images, ultrasound scans, and corresponding orientation drawings to help students confidently apply the laboratory experience to clinical rotations. Color schematic illustrations reinforce the relationships of structures and anatomical concepts in vibrant detail. Lippincott® Connect features: Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
ISBN: 9781975138707Publication Date: 2020-04-15
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient by
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 10th Edition, is thoroughly revised to provide the information needed to assess common problems and make safe dental management decisions. This new edition contains revised content on Cancer and Women's Health and includes an enhanced ebook plus patient-based practice questions with print purchase. Also, each chapter features informative illustrations and well-organized tables to provide you with in-depth details and overall summaries required for understanding and applying medical concepts in dentistry. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. UPDATED! Information correlating to the revised INBDE exam prepares you for the boards. NEW! An ebook version is included with print purchase. The ebook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, patient-based questions are included. UPDATED! Revised coverage of Women's Health addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management. NEW! Completely revised chapter on Cancer discusses essential considerations for the oral care of these patients. NEW! Key Points at the beginning of each chapter highlight important content to guide study efforts.
ISBN: 9780323809450Publication Date: 2023-05-01
Moore's Essential Clinical Anatomy by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Moore's Essential Clinical Anatomy, Sixth Edition , presents core anatomical concepts in a concise, student-friendly format. As with the leading, comprehensive Clinically Oriented Anatomy text, this succinct resource is widely acclaimed for the relevance of its clinical correlations, emphasizing anatomy essential to physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. The text's hallmark blue Clinical Boxes highlight the practical value of anatomy, accompanied by extensive surface anatomy and medical imaging features that clarify key concepts and structures to help build clinical confidence and equip students for success in practice. Updated, renowned blue Clinical Boxes explore the practical applications of anatomy, and helpful icons distinguish the type of clinical information covered in each. New and updated surface anatomy and physical examination photos help you grasp the clinical context for key structures and skills. Surface Anatomy boxes with overlay illustrations enhance your clinical and diagnostic capabilities. Medical Imaging boxes containing a wealth of plain and contrast radiographic, MR, CT, and ultrasonographic images provide a real-life clinical perspective that strengthens your anatomical knowledge and application. A thorough "Overview and Basic Concepts" chapter equips you with the foundational understanding of systemic information, terminology, and basic concepts. Chapter outlines and illustrated tables highlight key topics and information for efficient study. Online resources include multiple choice, board-style review questions that can be used to practice for course and licensing exams, along with cases studies and narrated animations that enrich clinical understanding. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
ISBN: 9781496369659Publication Date: 2019-02-13
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by
No dental office should be without this quick-reference drug handbook! Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 13th Edition provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author on dental pharmacology, this pocket guide provides the current, concise drug information needed at the point of care. More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, pharmacokinetics, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more. Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, and makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information as well as general drug information, saving you time with information that is dentistry-focused and easy to use. Convenient reference information in the front of the guide includes a primer on the management of medically compromised patients, and the back of the guide includes convenient appendices on abbreviations, drugs associated with dry mouth, drugs that affect taste, oral contraceptives, preventing medication errors, and improving medication safety. Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective makes it easier to use drug information for patient and family education. Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known to patients only by their brand names. Evolve website includes more than 100 additional monographs, including new monographs on monoclonal antibodies, images of common pathologic conditions, and information on common oral complications, alternative medicine, and drugs of abuse. NEW! More than 70 new monographs are included on the Evolve website for newly released, FDA-approved monoclonal antibody drugs, plus up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies.
ISBN: 9780323779364Publication Date: 2021-03-01
Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry by
A concise and visual guide to clinically relevant anatomy for dentistry, Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry is an effective text for class and exam preparation, as well as a quick review in professional practice. Concise text, high-yield tables, clinical correlations, and review questions combine to make this new edition a perfect choice for learning and remembering the need-to-know structures, relationships, and concepts, while beautiful illustrations created in the Netter tradition enhance your visual mastery of the material. You may also be interested in: A companion set of flash cards, Netter's Advanced Head & Neck Anatomy Flash Cards, 3rd Edition. Over 100 multiple-choice questions complete with explanations help you assess your knowledge of the material and prepare for exams. Identify clinically relevant anatomy with Netter illustrations and new art created in the Netter tradition. Concise text and high-yield tables offer fast access to important facts. Procedures coverage gives context and clinical meaning to the anatomy. Expanded, up-to-date coverage on dental implants, cone beam imaging, and mandible osteology. Beautiful new illustrations by Carlos Machado, MD, of the TMJ, articular disc pathology, infratemporal fossa, pterygopalatine fossa, and maxillary artery. Interactive eBook included with print purchase, which includes access to the full text, interactive images, case studies, additional assessment questions, video clips from cone beam CTs, and a rotatable 3D skull.
ISBN: 9780323392280Publication Date: 2016-11-09
Wheater's Functional Histology by
Take a simple approach to understanding the fundamentals with Wheater's Functional Histology. Offering concise text accompanied by hundreds of captions and images of histology slides, this best-selling textbook will equip you with all the must-know histology information you need to complete your courses and ace your exams. All (print) purchasers receive the complete, downloadable eBook (via Student Consult) - which now includes an all new bank of multiple choice questions to test your understanding and aid exam preparation. Recognize the microscopic structure of normal human tissues and how it relates to function with the help of over 900 high-quality histology images and illustrations. Master how to apply histology in a clinical context through coverage of common clinical conditions in each chapter. Access the entire contents online at Student Consult, including all of the images, a virtual histolab, and USMLE-style self-assessment questions and rationales. Gain a rich understanding of histology through simple, concise text and captions that are thoroughly updated with the most recent research and new discoveries. All (print) purchasers receive the complete, downloadable eBook (via Student Consult) - which now includes an all new bank of multiple choice questions to test your understanding and aid exam preparation.
ISBN: 0702047473Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Dental Caries by
First published in 2003, Dental Caries: The Disease and Its Clinical Management has become the leading resource on cariology. In this highly anticipated new edition, the editors maintain the same focus on high-level coverage of the disease etiology and process, clinical management best-practice, and wider public health issues connected with dental caries management, including an enhanced focus on the 'caries control concept'. The aim is to link theory with clinical performance, making prevention, diagnosis and restorative procedures evidence based. The structure of the book has been completely overhauled, with the same coverage streamlined in order to distil information effectively. The book is divided into six main sections: An overview of the disease and its prevalence The caries lesion and its biological determinants Diagnosis Controlling dental caries Operative intervention Caries control in special populations With contributions from international experts in research and clinical practice, the third edition of Dental Caries is an unrivalled guide to tooth decay, and a must-have resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students in restorative dentistry as well as all practitioners looking to develop their clinical skills.
ISBN: 9781118935828Publication Date: 2015-05-26
Dental Materials by
Get an in-depth understanding of the dental materials and tasks that dental professionals encounter every day with Dental Materials: Foundations and Applications, 11th Edition. Trusted for nearly 40 years, Powers and Wataha's text walks readers through the nature, categories, and uses of clinical and laboratory dental materials in use today. Increased coverage of foundational basics and clinical applications and an expanded art program help make complex content easier to grasp. If you're looking to effectively stay on top of the rapidly developing field of dental materials, look no further than this proven text. Comprehensive and cutting-edge content describes the latest materials commonly used in dental practice, including those in esthetics, ceramics, dental implants, and impressions. Approximately 500 illustrations and photographs make it easier to understand properties and differences in both materials and specific types of products. Review questions provide an excellent study tool with 20 to 30 self-test questions in each chapter. Quick Review boxes summarize the material in each chapter. Note boxes highlight key points and important terminology throughout the text. Key terms are bolded at their initial mention in the text and defined in the glossary. Expert authors are well recognized in the fields of dental materials, oral biomaterials, and restorative dentistry. A logical and consistent format sets up a solid foundation before progressing into discussions of specific materials, moving from the more common and simple applications such as composites to more specialized areas such as polymers and dental implants. Learning objectives in each chapter focus readers' attention on essential information. Supplemental readings in each chapter cite texts and journal articles for further research and study. Conversion Factors on the inside back cover provides a list of common metric conversions. NEW! Foundations and Applications subtitle emphasizes material basics and clinical applications to mirror the educational emphasis. NEW! More clinical photos and conceptual illustrations help bring often-complex material into context and facilitate comprehension.
ISBN: 9780323316378Publication Date: 2016-01-25
Dental Office Medical Emergencies, a Manual of Office Response Protocols by
"Dental office medical emergencies, a manual of office response protocols, 6th edition, is designed to assist in addressing emergency situation, facilitating treatment, and reinforcing basic life support techniques. This reference is intended for use during times of crisis as well as for office preparedness and staff training for management of emergencies."
ISBN: 9781591953609Publication Date: 2017
Ten Cate's Oral Histology by
Gain a deeper understanding of oral health with the definitive text in oral histology. Written by Dr. Antonio Nanci, a world-renowned leader in cell biology, the new ninth edition of Ten Cate's Oral Histology covers all the latest research and trends in oral histology, embryology, physiology, oral biology, and postnatal growth and development that is essential to success in oral health! Considered to be the standard in the field, this renowned text uses straightforward explanations and detailed, full-color micrographs, images, and illustrations to help you better understand even the most complex topics. Detailed histological and structural images help you differentiate the structures. Medical approach to histology helps you understand underlying biological events, and oral tissue repair and regeneration. Full-color format helps bring oral histology to life. Learning resources on the Evolve website include multiple-choice review questions with instant feedback, and interactive drag-and-drop exercises. NEW! Full-color micrographs, images, and 3D art enhance your understanding of key oral histology concepts. NEW! Commentary boxes highlight new and innovative research topics from leaders in the field. NEW! Updated content - including additional content on the nervous system in chapter four - has been added to keep you up to date with the latest information in the field.
ISBN: 9780323485241Publication Date: 2017-10-13
Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion by
Successfully learn to apply dental anatomy to the practice of dentistry with Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology, and Occlusion, 11th Edition. Updated and visually enhanced, the 11th edition of this market-leading dental text expands its focus on clinical applications. Dozens of online 360-degree and 3-D tooth animations to give you an unparalleled view of dentitions, pulp formation, the sequence of eruptions, and countless clinical considerations. Every text purchase also comes with access to the companion Expert Consult website - where you can reference the entire text electronically, as well as engage with a wealth of learning activities, animations, and hands-on resources to better understand and retain the information covered in the text. In all, this proven learning package offers all the up-to-date information, best practices, and tools to prepare you for the dental anatomy and occlusion section of the exams and ensure long-term clinical success. More than 800 full-color images include detailed, well-labeled anatomical illustrations as well as clinical photographs. Bolded key terms draw students' attention to essential terminology. Practical appendices include Review of Tooth Morphology with a concise review of tooth development from in utero to adolescence to adulthood; and Tooth Traits of the Permanent Dentition with tables for each tooth providing detailed information such as tooth notation, dimensions, position of proximal contacts, heights, and curvatures. 360-degree virtual reality and 3-D animations on Expert Consult help students refine their skills in tooth identification and examination. Step-by-step videos on Expert Consult demonstrate occlusal adjustments. Labeling exercises challenge students to identify tooth structures and facial anatomy with drag-and-drop labels. Chapter on clinical applications includes practical applications and case studies to prepare students for exams. Topics include root planing and scaling; extraction techniques and forces; relationship of fillings to pulp form and enamel form; and occlusal adjustment of premature occlusal contacts and arch form in relationship to bite splint designs. NEW! Learning objectives and pre-test questions at the start of every chapter focus students' attention on the knowledge and critical thinking expectations for each chapter. NEW! Full-color images have replaced many of the black and white images to give students a more vivid picture of clinical situations and procedures. NEW! Updated information incorporates new research and visuals to ensure students are equipped with the latest best practices. NEW! Access to the companion Expert Consult website includes hands-on exercises, animations, videos, quizzes, exams, and more to round out students' learning experience and help ensure their ability to apply book content.
ISBN: 9780323638784Publication Date: 2019-11-25
Orthodontics by
Comprehensive, cutting-edge content prepares you for today's orthodontics! Orthodontics: Current Principles and Techniques, 6th Edition provides evidence-based coverage of orthodontic diagnosis, planning strategies, and treatment protocols, including esthetics, genetics, temporary anchorage devices, aligners, technology-assisted biomechanics, and much more. New to this edition is an Expert Consult website using videos and additional visuals to show concepts difficult to explain with words alone. Expert Consult also adds three online-only chapters, research updates, and a fully searchable version of the text. From respected editors Lee Graber, Robert Vanarsdall, Katherine Vig, and Greg Huang, along with a veritable Who's Who of expert contributors, this classic reference has a concise, no-nonsense approach to treatment that makes it the go-to book for orthodontic residents and practitioners! Comprehensive coverage provides a one-stop resource for the field of orthodontics, including foundational theory and the latest on the materials and techniques used in today's practice. Experienced, renowned editors lead a team of expert, international contributors, bringing the most authoritative clinical practice and supporting science from the best and brightest in the industry. More than 3,400 images include a mixture of radiographs, full-color clinical photos, and anatomic or schematic line drawings, showing examples of treatment, techniques, and outcomes. Extensive references make it easy to look up the latest in orthodontic research and evidence-based information, and all references also appear online. Detailed, illustrated case studies show the decision-making process, showing the consequences of various treatment techniques over time. NEW! Seven all-new chapters include Orthodontic Diagnosis and Treatment Planning with Cone-Beam Computed Tomography Imaging; Upper Airway, Cranial Morphology, and Sleep Apnea; Management of Impactions; Iatrogenic Effects of Orthodontic Appliances; Minimally and Non-Invasive Approaches to Accelerate Tooth Movement; Management of Dental Luxation and Avulsion Injuries in the Permanent Dentition; and Patient Management and Motivation for the Child and Adolescent Patient. NEW! Expert Consult website includes online-only chapters, instructional videos, many references linked to PubMed, and research updates including additional case studies. UPDATED CHAPTERS include Biomechanical Considerations with Temporary Anchorage Devices, Bonding in Orthodontics, Clear Aligner Treatment, Lingual Appliance Treatment, Psychological Aspects of Diagnosis and Treatment, Clinically Relevant Aspects of Dental Materials Science in Orthodontics, The Biologic Basis of Orthodontics, and more. New co-editor Greg J. Huang is joined by new contributors who are highly regarded experts within their respective subspecialties in orthodontics.
ISBN: 9780323378321Publication Date: 2016-08-10
Essential Microbiology for Dentistry by
The latest edition of this essential textbook continues to support a new generation of dental students in their understanding of microbiom and oral microbiota, basic immunology, oral and systemic infections and cross-infection control. Fully updated throughout with the latest developments in oral microbiology, microbiomics, disease prevention and control, Essential Microbiology for Dentistry will be essential for all undergraduates studying dentistry as well as anyone undertaking postgraduate training. Friendly, accessible writing style helps readers engage with key information Helpful self-assessment - in the style of both dental school and RCS exams -enables students to monitor their progress Evidenced-based throughout to help facilitate safe clinical practice Ample use of artwork helps explain complex structures, physiological processes and the effect of drug intervention Helpful use of italics for clinically relevant facts and emboldened key words to highlight important information Presents the latest national and international guidelines 'Key Fact' boxes at the end of each chapter help summarize core information Contains a comprehensive glossary and abbreviations list Expanded to meet the higher-level of understanding and application of knowledge required of students today Provides a fuller discussion of the oral microbiome and the microbiota ; new microbial identification technology; antibiotic steweardship;, ; endodontic infections; implant-related infections; plaque biofilms and the systemic disease axis and the current guidelines on antimicrobial prophylaxis Contains new photographic images - many previously unpublished Provides enhanced discussions of newer molecular based methods of diagnosis Explores the latest research in dental plaque biofilm functionality and metabolism, and the mechanisms of enhanced resistance caused by biofilms Now comes with a helpful ONLINE RESOURCE containing a wide range of MCQS to help students monitor their progress!
ISBN: 9780702074356Publication Date: 2018-07-09
Additional ebook titles
Applications of Biomedical Engineering in Dentistry by ISBN: 3030215822Publication Date: 2019-09-05This book offers readers a valuable overview of recent advances in biomedical engineering, as applied to the modern dentistry. It begins by studying the biomaterials in dentistry, and materials used intraoperatively during oral and maxillofacial surgery procedures.
Infection Control in Primary Dental Care by ISBN: 3030163067Publication Date: 2019-07-26This book is an easy-to-use guide to all aspects of infection control and decontamination that will support the implementation of effective measures for risk reduction in dental practice.
Infection Control in the Dental Office by ISBN: 3030300846Publication Date: 2019-11-28This book reviews the principles of infection control and the guidelines and standards of care in multiple countries, discussing them within the context of the practice of dentistry.
Molar Incisor Hypomineralization by ISBN: 3030316009Publication Date: 2020-02-07This book is a wide-ranging reference on current clinical and scientific knowledge regarding the various aspects of molar incisor hypomineralization (MIH).
