Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Genocide: Pathways to Perpetration: Finding Newspaper Articles

Why Newspapers?

You can use historical newspapers to find out how issues and events were reported during a specific time in history.

The Press Then and Now

Historical New York Times
Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. The two+ most recent years are not included, use Factiva.Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Washington Post
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 1993. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Full-text database of 500 newspapers published between 1800 and 1900. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Latin American Newspapers
This collection contains scanned images of historical newspapers from North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Rutgers-restricted Access
 
Australian Newspapers: 1803-1954
More than forty titles hosted by the Australian National Library. Articles are searchable by keyword, date, and selected categories.
Historical Jewish Press
Search 35 Jewish newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries in various countries. Most newspapers in Hebrew, although other languages are included. Includes the Palestine Post, 1932 to 1950.
Popular Newspapers During World War II
Microfilm edition of five British newspapers reproduced in their entirety for the period 1939 to 1945. Covers: Daily Express (London); Daily Mirror (London); News of the World (London); People (London); and the Sunday Express (London). Chronological arrangement; (ALEXANDER M/Film 2717). Guide. (ALEXANDER, CAMDEN REF PN 5118 .P66 guide)
Contemporary Accounts: U.S. Media

Access World News
Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Rutgers-restricted Access
Westlaw Campus Research
"News" portion indexes the full text of many newspapers.Rutgers-restricted Access
Factiva
A vast archive which includes the full-text of 8,000 leading newspapers(including the New York Times), magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Ten to twenty year+ backfile for many titles. Rutgers-restricted Access.
CNN - Middle East
Major news network
Contemporary Accounts: Non-U.S. Media

Al Jazeera English
The highly respected English-language news and current affairs channel based in Qatar. Starting in January 2007, Al Jazeera news stories are included in the Factiva database

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.